PDA

View Full Version : new user to linux and fedora, a few questions if you dont mind

lunar_mind
30th July 2009, 04:44 AM
Hi, this's my first post here - Im new to fedora and also to linux, i had some questions if that's ok.

question 1 - I had 15 gigs of free space, i was ready to use some of it to install fedora, but for some reasons, the installer nagged me about this and that, until i basically gave up and gave it the whole 15 gigs to install on. i dont think i need 15 gigs for linux at this point, seeing as ive never been able to get it to a point where i can regularly use it. could someone please tell me how, or point me to a link, where i can learn to properly partition for linux? in plain, plain english. do i need just one 5 gig partition? i know mandriva wanted one swap, one root, one /, one something else etc. would it be better to prepare the partition(s) from within windows with acronis disk director?

question 2 - when i installed fedora, shortly a message popped up saying there were updates available, bugfixes, security etc - so i selected them all for download. my question is, did these updates refer to updates for software already installed on the system, and/or additional things i could install that were not yet on the system?? it sure seemed like alot to download, and with seeing japanese character sets etc, i just wondered if i was downloading the entire internet without knowing what i was doing.

question 3 - i noticed there are no desktop icons on my installation, is there some box i can tick somewhere to get them on there?

question 4 - i use a laptop, but an external monitor - both work, but on the monitor, there is about an inch of black all around the border, and i cant see the taskbar (forcing me to use the laptop screen). can i resolve this?