PDA

View Full Version : Unable to add monitor



tomclarence
20th June 2009, 12:57 PM
Distribution: Fedora release 11 (Leonidas)
Gnome Release: 2.26.2 2009-06-01 (Red Hat, Inc)
BugBuddy Version: 2.26.0

System: Linux 2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE #1 SMP Wed May 27 17:28:22 EDT 2009 i686
X Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
X Vendor Release: 10601901
Selinux: Permissive
Accessibility: Disabled
GTK+ Theme: Nodoka
Icon Theme: Fedora
GTK+ Modules: canberra-gtk-module, pk-gtk-module, gnomebreakpad

Memory status: size: 0 vsize: 0 resident: 0 share: 0 rss: 0 rss_rlim: 0
CPU usage: start_time: 0 rtime: 0 utime: 0 stime: 0 cutime:0 cstime: 0 timeout: 0 it_real_value: 0 frequency: 0



----------- .xsession-errors ---------------------
**
libgdu:ERROR:gdu-pool.c:1253:device_recurse: assertion failed: (depth < 100)
(nautilus:4173): GVFS-RemoteVolumeMonitor-WARNING **: invoking IsSupported() failed for remote volume monitor with dbus name org.gtk.Private.GduVolumeMonitor: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildSig
Initializing nautilus-gdu extension
** (nautilus:4173): WARNING **: Unable to add monitor: not support.
(gnome-display-properties:4187): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display: assertion `atom != GDK_NONE' failed
(gnome-display-properties:4187): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display: assertion `atom != GDK_NONE' failed
(gnome-display-properties:4187): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display: assertion `atom != GDK_NONE' failed
**
libgdu:ERROR:gdu-pool.c:1253:device_recurse: assertion failed: (depth < 100)
--------------------------------------------------
Thanks. It happens every time I drag icon on my desktop.

Hlingler
20th June 2009, 01:06 PM
Please post monitor make, model, and other relevant hardware info.

V

tomclarence
20th June 2009, 02:07 PM
Thanks, could you help to offer some typical commands that can collect the monitor make, model... ?
So I can run it from the console.
I'm new to fedora, thanks again.

Hlingler
20th June 2009, 02:24 PM
Sure: assuming that the monitor is connected of course, open a text terminal (aka: "Command Line Interface", "CLI", "Terminal", XTerm", "GNOME-Terminal", "Console", Konsole" - any one of them will do), and log in as root user:
~]$ su -
Password: <type root user password and press <ENTER> key>
~]# lspci -vvThe output will be verbose - just copy-and-paste the section on 'VGA' here. Add any relevant info from the monitor itself - i.e.: what's printed on the thing.

V

tomclarence
20th June 2009, 02:39 PM
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV36 [GeForce FX 5700LE] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: LeadTek Research Inc. Device 29a8
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 248 (1250ns min, 250ns max)
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16
Region 0: Memory at fd000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
Region 1: Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
[virtual] Expansion ROM at fe9e0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [44] AGP version 3.0
Status: RQ=32 Iso- ArqSz=0 Cal=3 SBA+ ITACoh- GART64- HTrans- 64bit- FW+ AGP3+ Rate=x4,x8
Command: RQ=32 ArqSz=2 Cal=0 SBA+ AGP+ GART64- 64bit- FW- Rate=x8
Kernel driver in use: nvidia
Kernel modules: nvidia, nouveau

PS: and my monitor is ViewSonic G71f+, is this information useful?

Hlingler
20th June 2009, 02:59 PM
The output will be verbose - just copy-and-paste the section on 'VGA' here.Just the section on VGA.... :D
PS: and my monitor is ViewSonic G71f+, is this information useful?Yes, that's what we were after.

Now that we know all about your hardware: what exactly is the problem? I.E.: no GUI, or what??

V

tomclarence
20th June 2009, 03:17 PM
oh, thanks for you reminder, I edit my post.
So, now, is this information enough to fix the problem.

Hlingler
20th June 2009, 08:59 PM
Thanks. It happens every time I drag icon on my desktop.OK, what happens, exactly? Please describe in detail.

V

tomclarence
21st June 2009, 02:54 AM
It happens every time when I drag icon(disk partition) on my desktop.
Or when I open computer, want open any disk partition by double clicking them.
The disk partitions may my ntfs partitions which I have my windows installed.
Every time the gnome crash, and give a report like my post on #1.