PDA

View Full Version : Adding Languages

Wiedzmin
5th May 2009, 01:45 PM
Hello,

I am new to Linux systems, and was wondering, how to add other languages to Fedora? I am using Fedora 10, and am particularly interested in Japanese and Russian.

Thank you for your time.

Wayne
5th May 2009, 01:55 PM
You can fire up the package manager or install yumex (Yum Extender) which will give you a list of all package groups, including languages which you can install... Or in a root Terminal, type:

yum install scim-lang-japanese

Wayne

Wiedzmin
5th May 2009, 02:08 PM
Awesome; thank you very much!

I have just installed it. Very sorry to bother you, but two more small questions.
1) How do I switch between languages to type?
2) Will programs and add-ons like these that I install separately also be updated by the yum search jdk command as the basic system software is?

P.S. Does it matter for SCIM functionality if I use KDE?

Wayne
5th May 2009, 02:20 PM
In Gnome you have to log out and back in again for the Panel im-switcher icon to show up... KDE is totally alien to me, sorry. Check your KDE menu thingie. All programs installed via yum will updated when updates become available....

Wayne

Wayne
5th May 2009, 02:30 PM
I also can't remember if these two commands in a USER (non-root) Terminal are still required:

mkdir ~/.xinput.d

ln -s /etc/X11/xinit/xinput.d/scim ~/.xinput.d/default

Wayne

Wiedzmin
5th May 2009, 10:22 PM
Wayne, thank you very much for your help. SCIM does work right now, and those last two commands were not required, but thank you for them either way.

Wayne
6th May 2009, 02:43 AM
No problem, although I'm surprised Scott didn't jump in either :) He probably has a life though, unlike me :)

Now you've got Scim/Japanese. it's easy to add other supported languages the same way.

yum install scim-lang-languagename