PDA

View Full Version : filesystem 'lvm2pv' unknown



nelson60s
1st May 2009, 10:17 PM
I get an error when mounting a disk with mount



[root@master nelson60s]# mount /dev/sdb2 /home/nelson60s/Escritorio/disk/
mount: tipo de sistema de ficheros 'lvm2pv' desconocido
[root@master nelson60s]#


This is a second disk with a FC9 installation on it.

I get the error when i try to mount it with MOUNT.

Previously i had mount this Hard Disk in a ubuntu system, and it mounts wihtout a trouble.
But when i try to mount it in a system with FC10 it goes wrong.

Now i have not an ubuntu system.

How can i mount this HD???


Solution


Originally Posted by stoat View Post
Okay, I don't use Ubuntu so I don't know what it can or cannot do vis-a-vis this subject. And I also don't know what Ubuntu has (or had) to do with the current situation. Sorry. But the problem of duplicate VG names when mounting logical volumes is well-known. I didn't realize it was an issue from what you wrote in your first post. Anyway, maybe something here will help out...

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=213784

stoat
2nd May 2009, 11:30 PM
filesystem 'lvm2pv' unknownHello nelson60s,

You may be long gone from here. But anyway, that's what happens when you try to mount a partition that is actually an LVM physical volume. What you should do is mount the logical volume(s) inside the physical volume. I think the following example may work for you...
mkdir -p /home/nelson60s/Escritorio/disk
vgchange -a y
lvdisplay
mount /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 /home/nelson60s/Escritorio/diskThat is just an example that I think will work. You may have to modify it. The lvdisplay output will identify your actual volume groups and logical volumes. Fedora by default creates a volume group with logical volumes for / and swap. The / partition is usually LogVol00 but may be something else. Look at the lvdisplay output and figure that out. No promises.

nelson60s
3rd May 2009, 05:31 PM
Thanks STOAT!

But it does not fix my problem.

Because i have two disks



[root@master nelson60s]# mount /dev/sd
sda sda1 sda2 sdb sdb1 sdb2
[root@master nelson60s]# mount /dev/sd

sda is the HD where FC10 is running, this is the actual system.
sdb is the other HD where FC9 was running.

It means i have two
Logical volume with the same name in two different HD


[root@master nelson60s]# lvdisplay
--- Logical volume ---
LV Name /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
VG Name VolGroup00
LV UUID S2Zval-lrub-uh71-AiWd-ln0z-w2r0-gaxTMi
LV Write Access read/write
LV Status available
# open 1
LV Size 34,12 GB
Current LE 1092
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors auto
- currently set to 256
Block device 253:0

--- Logical volume ---
LV Name /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01
VG Name VolGroup00
LV UUID 5FxuUO-D4ek-XZCC-bMSG-NBzS-8TFJ-LhvP5a
LV Write Access read/write
LV Status available
# open 1
LV Size 3,94 GB
Current LE 126
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors auto
- currently set to 256
Block device 253:1


In this way the /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 only contains the actual VolGroup (sda2), and i can't get the VolGroup from the other HD (sdb2).

My mistake was to mount the disk in a UBUNTU system, since then i can't mount that disk anywhere!!

Is there a solution?

Thanks to everyone

stoat
3rd May 2009, 07:20 PM
Okay, I don't use Ubuntu so I don't know what it can or cannot do vis-a-vis this subject. And I also don't know what Ubuntu has (or had) to do with the current situation. Sorry. But the problem of duplicate VG names when mounting logical volumes is well-known. I didn't realize it was an issue from what you wrote in your first post. Anyway, maybe something here will help out...
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=213784

nelson60s
3rd May 2009, 07:36 PM
Okay, I don't use Ubuntu so I don't know what it can or cannot do vis-a-vis this subject. And I also don't know what Ubuntu has (or had) to do with the current situation. Sorry. But the problem of duplicate VG names when mounting logical volumes is well-known. I didn't realize it was an issue from what you wrote in your first post. Anyway, maybe something here will help out...
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=213784

This is it!!!!!!!!!

Thanks STOAT!!!!!

It was so easy

Thanks to everyone

tzfox
10th April 2010, 07:29 AM
thanks for all of you. I hope it can solve my problem.