PDA

View Full Version : Presto enabled by rawhide - x86 only now. other archs will follow



RahulSundaram
16th April 2009, 05:13 PM
Hi,

Presto is enabled by default for i386 rawhide as of today.

# yum update

====

48/48
Size of all updates downloaded from Presto-enabled repositories: 5.1M
Size of updates that would have been downloaded if Presto wasn't enabled: 28M
This is a savings of 83 percent

====

scottro
16th April 2009, 10:28 PM
This is pretty exciting, actually. If I remember correctly, one will have to install yum-presto manually, or is that done automatically?

I will have to try it on the Asus 1000HE tonight.


Anxiously waiting for x86_64......

(Yeah, I know, we're NEVER happy).

hephasteus
16th April 2009, 11:32 PM
Hope this helps you guys with the 12 million people who are getting updates from you constantly. Nice to see you guys are doing good horde management. :D

Just wanted to thank everyone who worked on presto and checksums for making updating faster and safer.

RahulSundaram
17th April 2009, 12:23 AM
Hi,

If you installed the alpha or beta, you willl have to install yum-presto manually. The general release will have it installed by default so everything should just work out of the box

robatino
24th April 2009, 08:08 AM
Hi,

If you installed the alpha or beta, you willl have to install yum-presto manually. The general release will have it installed by default so everything should just work out of the box

As you pointed out later in

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=220194

F11 won't have yum-presto installed by default, so it will be necessary to install it, but it should work automatically after that.