PDA

View Full Version : Music Players



metatron
12th April 2009, 05:25 AM
I get two different scenarios in three different programs. Rhythmbox won't let me import music and tells me I am missing Gstreamer.
Banshee and Amarok let me import files but when I go to play them they won't play and consecutively get "X" icons next to the songs.
I doublechecked and I do have GStreamer installed.

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 05:30 AM
Did you follow the instructions to get non free codecs on Fedora?
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=106220

metatron
12th April 2009, 06:18 AM
Did you follow the instructions to get non free codecs on Fedora?
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=106220

Now I can't install anything. I get this error:

Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/10.92/mirrors-freshrpms error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: freshrpms. Please verify its path and try again

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 06:28 AM
I'm terribly sorry, that was an old thread. Those are the correct instructions http://linuxpoison.blogspot.com/2008/11/multimedia-support-in-fedora-10.html

metatron
12th April 2009, 06:33 AM
I'm still getting the same error.

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 06:39 AM
Try this

rpm -e freshrpms-release-1.1-1.fc.noarch.rpm

rpm -e livna-release-5.rpm

metatron
12th April 2009, 06:43 AM
i tried uninstalling and it's saying it's not installed to begin with

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 06:47 AM
Sorry again, maybe I need some sleep

rpm -e freshrpms-release-1.1-1

rpm -e livna-release-5

metatron
12th April 2009, 06:55 AM
Ugh, this is getting ridiculous. The first one said it wasn't installed, the second one uninstalled. But I'm still getting the same error.

Demz
12th April 2009, 06:59 AM
all you need is RPMFusion an Livna , you'll find the codecs in RPMFusion http://rpmfusion.org/Configuration
(http://rpmfusion.org/Configuration)
su -c "rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release.rpm"

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 07:06 AM
To remove freshrpm

rpm -qa | grep freshrpms
That will tell you the exact name of the package.
Then

rpm -e the_exact_name_goes_here

metatron
12th April 2009, 07:06 AM
Ok, but I still can't do anything without getting rid of that error that I posted above.

Edit: I posted that at the same time you did. That worked. Thanks.

Edit#2: but I'm now getting THIS error:

Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: rpmfusion-free. Please verify its path and try again

adriandelatabla
12th April 2009, 07:10 AM
Thank you, and please forgive me about the wrong info. I promise to never post again whitout get some sleep first :-)

Demz
12th April 2009, 07:12 AM
you dont need freshrpm no more,
RPM Fusion is a merger of Dribble (http://dribble.org.uk/), Freshrpms (http://freshrpms.net/), and Livna (http://rpm.livna.org/);

metatron
12th April 2009, 07:14 AM
I got rid of freshrpm and am now getting the last error msg that I posted.

Demz
12th April 2009, 07:18 AM
are you sure you did it correctly? did you type this one in?
su -c 'rpm -Uvh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-rawhide.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-rawhide.noarch.rpm'

metatron
12th April 2009, 07:31 AM
Sorry, Demz, I totally read you're last post wrong (it's 2:30 am). I got it set now. Got Rhythmbox and banshee working, but I get this when I try to install amarok:

Package qtscriptbindings-0.1.0-5.fc11.i586.rpm is not signed

I think I'm going to really get familiar with rpms. They seem to screw me up every release.

Demz
12th April 2009, 07:40 AM
thats weird but thats only something i did find something but i dont think its of any use to you, its basically gonna have to be signed by the package maintainer, so i would probably file a bugzilla against it

i dont think this http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/s1-rpm-pgp-signing-packages.html would be of any use to you

metatron
12th April 2009, 07:45 AM
Let me ask you this, as this is my first time using beta. When I go to install, obviously it tells me amarok is from rawhide. But it tells me qtscriptbindings is from the updates-testing repo. Should it still be signed if it's in there? I guess so if it's still available.
Boy, sure would be nice if I could just do a buzilla search right from the forum :)

Demz
12th April 2009, 07:52 AM
Let me ask you this, as this is my first time using beta. When I go to install, obviously it tells me amarok is from rawhide. But it tells me qtscriptbindings is from the updates-testing repo. Should it still be signed if it's in there? I guess so if it's still available.
Boy, sure would be nice if I could just do a buzilla search right from the forum :)
thats odd, what repo's do you have enabled? do a
yum repolist in Terminal. by rights that QT package should also come from the rawhide repo

that updates-testing repo should not be enabled when testing a Alpha or Beta , you should only have rawhide an RPMFusion an Livna enabled and Adobe

metatron
12th April 2009, 07:56 AM
No, it looks like I do have the updates and updates-testing repo enabled. I didn't do that so it must've installed like that as a default.


repo id repo name status
livna rpm.livna.org for 10.92 - i38 enabled: 3
rawhide Fedora - Rawhide - Developmen enabled: 13,215
rpmfusion-free-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide enabled: 386
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide enabled: 136
updates Fedora 10.92 - i386 - Updates enabled: 13,215
updates-testing Fedora 10.92 - i386 - Test Up enabled: 13,215

Demz
12th April 2009, 07:58 AM
disable these ones, they should not be enabled
updates Fedora 10.92 - i386 - Updates enabled: 13,215
updates-testing Fedora 10.92 - i386 - Test Up enabled: 13,215to disable the,m go into

System > Administration > Software Sources i think it is an untick those ones

let me boot back into Fedora an i'll report back in this thread an show you what repo's you should only have enabled

Demz
12th April 2009, 08:07 AM
ok these are the repo's you should have
[spowd@localhost ~]$ yum repolist
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-i386 17/17
repo id repo name status
adobe-linux-i386 Adobe Systems Incorporated enabled: 17
rawhide Fedora - Rawhide - Developmental packa enabled: 13,215
rpmfusion-free-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - Free enabled: 386
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - Nonfre enabled: 136
repolist: 13,754Note this is the only Official Fedora one you should have enabled


rawhide Fedora - Rawhide - Developmental packa enabled: 13,215

what will happen when the final comes, it'll automatically switch over to the main repo's so you wont be on the rawhide one no more

metatron
12th April 2009, 08:11 AM
Ok, so I can disable livena because that's part of fusion, correct? And I do not have adobe.

Demz
12th April 2009, 08:17 AM
you can leave livna cause libdvdcss comes from there . just disable those 2 repo's that i said

Demz
12th April 2009, 08:19 AM
how to install the Adobe repo http://www.fedorafaq.org/#flash

metatron
12th April 2009, 08:23 AM
Ok, great. Everything's taken care of now. Thanks.

Demz
12th April 2009, 08:32 AM
no problem