PDA

View Full Version : Graphic card issues



JohnVV
23rd February 2009, 07:50 PM
Ax.Falcon
can you post the output of this command


lspci | grep VGA

Ax.Falcon
24th February 2009, 03:11 AM
Ax.Falcon
can you post the output of this command


lspci | grep VGA


01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11DDR [GeForce2 MX200] (rev b2)

And this is what I found here: http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86_64/180.29/README/appendix-a.html

The 96.43.xx driver supports the following set of GPUs:
NVIDIA GPU product Device PCI ID
GeForce2 MX/MX 400 0x0110
GeForce2 MX 100/200 0x0111

So I take it I get my hands on the driver?

I got some info here:

http://www.firewing1.com/content/view/105/36/

and attempted to as per instructions however the following post it what I got:

Ax.Falcon
24th February 2009, 03:16 AM
Here:

yum install kmod-nvidia-96xx xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
No package kmod-nvidia-96xx available.
No package xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx available.
Nothing to do


I also ran glxgears:

glxgears
288 frames in 5.0 seconds = 57.469 FPS
XIO: fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server ":0.0"
after 972 requests (847 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

and these:

glxinfo | grep direct -i
direct rendering: Yes
glxinfo | grep OpenGL -i
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.3-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.10
OpenGL extensions:


So.. perhaps 56 fps. What ya'll suggest?

Thanks =)!

JohnVV
24th February 2009, 03:48 AM
you will need to use the same driver i use , i don't think there is a kmod for it and the main one on nvidia's site WILL NOT work with the new xorg
this one ( a beta release )
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run
but you first will need the kernel-devel and kernel-header to be installed

yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers

run the installer
--save it to /


su -
cd /
chmod +x *.run
telinit 3
-- ( the screen will go black with white text) relog back in AS ROOT
cd /
sh ./*.run
-- and use the arrows to navigate
--select " accept " for the first one and hit " enter"
--then click " ok" for all the rest
--when done -- without errors
--type in
reboot

THEN you will need to add some lines to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
in red and edit "Module" too match


Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "UseEvents" "False"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
Option "NVAGP" "3"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400" "640x350"
EndSubSection
EndSection

DO NOT delete the driver because for ALL kernel xorg and X11 updated you must reinstall the *.run driver

Ax.Falcon
24th February 2009, 12:07 PM
you will need to use the same driver i use , i don't think there is a kmod for it and the main one on nvidia's site WILL NOT work with the new xorg
this one ( a beta release )
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run
but you first will need the kernel-devel and kernel-header to be installed

yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers

run the installer
--save it to /


su -
cd /
chmod +x *.run
telinit 3
-- ( the screen will go black with white text) relog back in AS ROOT
cd /
sh ./*.run
-- and use the arrows to navigate
--select " accept " for the first one and hit " enter"
--then click " ok" for all the rest
--when done -- without errors
--type in
reboot

THEN you will need to add some lines to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
in red and edit "Module" too match


Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "UseEvents" "False"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
Option "NVAGP" "3"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400" "640x350"
EndSubSection
EndSection

DO NOT delete the driver because for ALL kernel xorg and X11 updated you must reinstall the *.run driver


Sounds very promising and I appreciate it man but.. ..I don't actually know how to use Linux, or yum extensively.

I got to the point where I had to type this in:


yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers

I don't know how to save to / (by that I mean, what exactly do I save to / directory and how?)

and this part:



su -
cd /
chmod +x *.run
telinit 3

I don't really understand. I know su is change to root user right? And cd is change directory to [name of directory] which was /, I can do that. But how would one enter the next statement? Like this?:


chmod +x *.run telinit 3

because when I did it cme back with:


chmod: cannot axcess '*.run': No such file or directory

I also then tried:


yum install NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run

and


wget NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run

but I don't really know what I'm doing.

So how do I go about it again? Please and thank you! =)

Also, if there's a good simple overview or tutorial or document on some of the more common Linux commands used in everday LinuXinG =) then I'd be more than happy to read up on it.

Thanks so much guys =)!

JohnVV
24th February 2009, 06:12 PM
don't know how to save to / (by that I mean, what exactly do I save to / directory and how?)
just save the .run and copy/move it to /
from firefox save the download( /home/user-name) is the default )
then you will need to be root to copy it to / . Open a terminal
---
su -
( type your root password when asked)
cd /home/ your user name here /
( cd /home/bob)
( -- or cd /home/ where ever you put the .run)
cp *.run /
---------


yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers

did you install the two files ( they need to be installed )


su -
yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers



chmod +x *.run telinit 3
that is TWO commands


chmod +x *.run
this command makes the .run file an executable file ( like a windows" .exe" - ie. EXPLORER.EXE )


telinit 3
shuts down the x-server and puts you into TEXT ONLY ( the driver CAN NOT BE INSTALLED while X is running



yum install NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run
this won't work because the file IS NOT in the repositories
from firefox r- click on that file from the web page i gave you and select " save as " for
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/
----------------------------------------------------------
1) co to ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/ in firefox
2) r-click on NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run and select "save as "
3) save the file
4)open a terminal ( Applacatoins/System Tools/Terminal ) at the upper left of the Gnome desktop
5) type in ( if you saved the .run to /home/user name) -- if you did not save it there change the path in the instructions to match.
-- hit the "enter " button after each command -- (just like in windows)


su -
( your root password when asked )

cd /home/your user name
cp *.run /
cd /
chmod +x *.run
telinit 3
sh ./*.run

-- and use the arrows to navigate
--select " accept " for the first one and hit " enter"
--then click " ok" for all the rest
--when done -- without errors
--type in


reboot


-------------------------------
you might want to read some basics on using the terminal
http://www.linuxcommand.org/index.php
http://tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/index.html

and the " Read This First -(Good Tips)" forum topic
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=61
in there is
" Links: Getting Things Working "
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=183569
and " Where to find answers"
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=183431

Ax.Falcon
26th February 2009, 08:13 AM
just save the .run and copy/move it to /
from firefox save the download( /home/user-name) is the default )
then you will need to be root to copy it to / . Open a terminal
---
su -
( type your root password when asked)
cd /home/ your user name here /
( cd /home/bob)
( -- or cd /home/ where ever you put the .run)
cp *.run /
---------

did you install the two files ( they need to be installed )


su -
yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers


that is TWO commands


chmod +x *.run
this command makes the .run file an executable file ( like a windows" .exe" - ie. EXPLORER.EXE )


telinit 3
shuts down the x-server and puts you into TEXT ONLY ( the driver CAN NOT BE INSTALLED while X is running


this won't work because the file IS NOT in the repositories
from firefox r- click on that file from the web page i gave you and select " save as " for
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/
----------------------------------------------------------
1) co to ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/96.43.10/ in firefox
2) r-click on NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run and select "save as "
3) save the file
4)open a terminal ( Applacatoins/System Tools/Terminal ) at the upper left of the Gnome desktop
5) type in ( if you saved the .run to /home/user name) -- if you did not save it there change the path in the instructions to match.
-- hit the "enter " button after each command -- (just like in windows)


su -
( your root password when asked )

cd /home/your user name
cp *.run /
cd /
chmod +x *.run
telinit 3
sh ./*.run

-- and use the arrows to navigate
--select " accept " for the first one and hit " enter"
--then click " ok" for all the rest
--when done -- without errors
--type in


reboot


-------------------------------
you might want to read some basics on using the terminal
http://www.linuxcommand.org/index.php
http://tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/index.html

and the " Read This First -(Good Tips)" forum topic
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=61
in there is
" Links: Getting Things Working "
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=183569
and " Where to find answers"
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=183431


:eek: lol gotta nuke, screen came up blank with code flashing every 10 secs or so.

JohnVV
26th February 2009, 05:56 PM
Ax.Falcon that is odd .Did the "NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.10-pkg1.run" installer finish without throwing and error , and you said yes to ( move the courser to ( ok) with the arrows and hit enter) to everything including the question" would you like the xorg.conf to be configured " ( ok )



with code flashing every 10 secs or so.
would that be the text login that stays on the screen for 3 sec. then disapearers then reappearers , over and over .
a reboot should salve that . hold down the power button for 10 sec . then restart the computer .

Demz
26th February 2009, 11:29 PM
i would think its a ati driver issue

screamin_jesus
27th February 2009, 06:14 AM
this version of compiz seems much smoother, thanks :) scrolling in fx is much smoother.

Been using it all day and no more freezes after reinstalling the drivers again (through the terminal rather than the package manager like last time) seems to be running great.

here's the command I used for 64 bit to remove them:

rpm -e akmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.x86_64-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-9.2-2.fc10

j0n!-Sn!p3r
1st March 2009, 06:05 AM
Originally Posted by Jeff72 View Post
The latest Fedora 10 updates as of 2/25 seem to have damaged the official Fedora compiz-fusion when working with the fglrx driver. Now, the mouse shows like it is constantly busy and all new windows start above the top of the screen so you can not move windows around or even get to the top left of the Gnome Panel.

I am assuming this was caused by the updated xorg-x11-server update.

These were the updates applied:
Feb 25 20:41:22 Updated: gvfs-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:22 Updated: e2fsprogs-libs-1.41.4-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:22 Updated: 2:gimp-libs-2.6.5-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:23 Updated: system-config-printer-libs-1.0.15-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:31 Updated: 2:gimp-2.6.5-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:31 Updated: libgcrypt-1.4.4-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:32 Updated: vamp-plugin-sdk-1.3-3.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:32 Updated: 2:gimp-help-browser-2.6.5-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:32 Updated: hal-cups-utils-0.6.19-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: e2fsprogs-1.41.4-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: gvfs-smb-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: gvfs-obexftp-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: gvfs-gphoto2-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: gvfs-archive-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:33 Updated: gvfs-fuse-1.0.3-5.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:42 Updated: gstreamer-plugins-good-0.10.13-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:42 Updated: 1:wpa_supplicant-0.6.4-3.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:42 Updated: crontabs-1.10-26.fc10.noarch
Feb 25 20:41:43 Updated: 6:kdelibs-common-4.2.0-15.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:43 Updated: xorg-x11-server-common-1.5.3-13.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:44 Updated: system-config-printer-1.0.15-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:44 Updated: fontpackages-filesystem-1.20-1.fc10.noarch
Feb 25 20:41:49 Updated: 6:kdelibs-4.2.0-15.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:50 Updated: xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.5.3-13.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:50 Updated: anacron-2.3-66.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:51 Updated: rpm-libs-4.6.0-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:51 Updated: kaffeine-libs-0.8.7-3.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:52 Updated: rpm-4.6.0-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:53 Updated: kaffeine-0.8.7-3.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:54 Updated: rpm-python-4.6.0-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:41:54 Updated: rpm-build-4.6.0-1.fc10.i386
Feb 25 20:42:03 Updated: rpm-4.6.0-1.fc10.i386

If I do not run the Compiz Fusion Icon then things work as they should but without Compiz Fusion of course.

Any suggestions?

Jeff


I am having the same problem.

i have de same error man...

what is the solution plx?

j0n!-Sn!p3r
1st March 2009, 02:52 PM
j0n!-Sn!p3r , and the post right before your post did not fix it ???
i take it you too are using fedora 10 64 bit and not the 32 bit ?

if u say with this post http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1174326&postcount=1842

no... the system in console show me that all rpm's is not installed...

JohnVV
1st March 2009, 07:22 PM
and no more freezes after reinstalling the drivers again
from that post . Did you reinstall them ??
if you are using THE SAME RPMs AS THAT POST


yum reinstall akmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs



no... the system in console show me that all rpm's is not installed...
Reply With Quote
What is installed and WHAT is not installed ?????
just stating


i have de same error man...

what is the solution plx?
Reply With Quote
leads me to think YOU HAHE THE SAME DRIVER INSTALLED as Jeff72 ( the fglrx)
if this YOU ARE NOT using this then what ARE you using ??

j0n!-Sn!p3r
2nd March 2009, 02:33 AM
rpm -e akmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.x86_64-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-9.2-2.fc10

that package is not intalled in my system....

and i have installed the driver fglrx of this thread http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503 for fedora 10

but i saying that i have the same problem with the last update comment here too
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1173889&postcount=1838

JohnVV
2nd March 2009, 04:22 AM
so j0n!-Sn!p3r you DO NOT have the fglrx driver installed BUT the you are having the same problem as
Jeff72 -- see below


Now, the mouse shows like it is constantly busy and all new windows start above the top of the screen so you can not move windows around or even get to the top left of the Gnome Panel.


is that correct ???

j0n!-Sn!p3r
2nd March 2009, 04:26 AM
so j0n!-Sn!p3r you DO NOT have the fglrx driver installed BUT the you are having the same problem as
Jeff72 -- see below


is that correct ???

correct...
i cant move window, minimize, close, etc...

the top panel is hidden, if i choose mode metacity is all work but with compiz is not working...

JohnVV
2nd March 2009, 07:09 AM
j0n!-Sn!p3r , if you do not have a 3d driver installed then compiz-fusion will not work .


the top panel is hidden, if i choose mode metacity is all work but with compiz is not working...

can you post the output of
rpm -qa | grep fglrx
[/code]

j0n!-Sn!p3r
2nd March 2009, 02:21 PM
j0n!-Sn!p3r , if you do not have a 3d driver installed then compiz-fusion will not work .

can you post the output of
rpm -qa | grep fglrx
[/code]

xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.i386
xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.i386
kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.i686
kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.15-170.2.24.fc10.i686-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.1.i686
akmod-fglrx-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.i686


i had the top bar, but the last update (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1173889&postcount=1838) not appears now...

PD: jeff explain the same to me... i thing this package are not working... and make the error of the top bar

JohnVV
2nd March 2009, 05:03 PM
akmod-fglrx-8.573-1.9.1.fc10.i686
then YOU DO HAVE THE FGLRX DRIVER INSTALLED
why did you say that you DID NOT HAVE IT INSTALLED !!!

j0n!-Sn!p3r
3rd March 2009, 02:08 AM
then YOU DO HAVE THE FGLRX DRIVER INSTALLED
why did you say that you DID NOT HAVE IT INSTALLED !!!

i said that this package i dont have installed 'cause this code


rpm -e akmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.x86_64-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 kmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.1 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10 xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-9.2-2.fc10

the system console show me that packages is not installed...

but my questios is how can i fix this problem!?

JohnVV
3rd March 2009, 02:15 AM
seeing as i now know you are running a 32 bit system then the "x86_64 " 64 bit rpm's will not be installed BUT the 32 bit ones will .
Have you reinstalled the 32 bit rpm's ?

j0n!-Sn!p3r
3rd March 2009, 02:15 AM
seeing as i now know you are running a 32 bit system then the "x86_64 " 64 bit rpm's will not be installed BUT the 32 bit ones will .
Have you reinstalled the 32 bit rpm's ?

no... how can i do it?

JohnVV
3rd March 2009, 08:19 AM
like this



yum erase kmod-fglrx
yum reinstall akmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs

leigh123linux
3rd March 2009, 10:17 AM
Thread split.

j0n!-Sn!p3r
3rd March 2009, 10:26 PM
like this



yum erase kmod-fglrx
yum reinstall akmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs


the problem is not solved and the new update avaible too

j0n!-Sn!p3r
5th March 2009, 01:42 PM
some helppp plx?!?!?

Jeff72
6th March 2009, 04:47 AM
correct...
i cant move window, minimize, close, etc...

the top panel is hidden, if i choose mode metacity is all work but with compiz is not working...

Try this link which fixed the issues with compiz-fusion and the top window bar issues for me (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1177243&postcount=3174). However, this is essentially the same thing JohnVV suggested above, but did you reboot after? Also, after you reboot, if you watch the boot process you should see akmod build the kmod package during boot (hit ESC during boot if you have a graphical boot screen to see the boot process.)

If that doesn't work, you can try removing and reinstalled the Official Fedora compiz-fusion (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=894829&postcount=2). I did that also before doing the above, though i'm thinking removing and reinstalling compiz-fusion was not necessary.

These are the fglrx packages I have installed now:
$ rpm -qa|grep fglrx |sort
akmod-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.i686
kmod-fglrx-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.i686.PAE-9.2-2.fc10.i686
xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-9.2-2.fc10.i386
xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-9.2-2.fc10.i386

The kmod-fglrx I believe is built after the reboot after you reinstall the akmod-fglrx package.

Also, make sure you have your active kernel's devel package installed, or akmod won't be able to make the kmod package:
My system's example (my system uses the PAE kernel and PAE devel package because I have 4GB of memory):


$ uname -r
2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.i686.PAE

$ rpm -qa|grep kernel |grep devel|sort
kernel-devel-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686
kernel-devel-2.6.27.15-170.2.24.fc10.i686
kernel-devel-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.i686
kernel-PAE-devel-2.6.27.12-170.2.5.fc10.i686
kernel-PAE-devel-2.6.27.15-170.2.24.fc10.i686
kernel-PAE-devel-2.6.27.19-170.2.35.fc10.i686

Hope that helps.