PDA

View Full Version : Looking for (compat-) libstdc++.so.5



okonita
2nd March 2009, 06:36 PM
Hi all,

I have installed Fedora 10 x64 as a VMware Workstation guest OS. Trying to install DB2 Express-C v9.5, I ran into error that stated that libstdc++.so.5 cannot be found. Indeed, DB2 installation requirement for most Linux distribution requires libstdc++.so.5. I have googled, yum searched for this package and I am turning blue.

I tried the following which did me no good:
yum search compat-libstdc

yum install compat-libstdc++-33

Does anyone know where or how I can get this compatibility package that is provided with the older library, but that doesn't seem to be available any more?

I will be etrnally grateful to anyone that could save my skin at my job!

Thank you

cable_txg
2nd March 2009, 06:41 PM
Sometimes you could just link the files, this is what I have:


[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ls -ltr /usr/lib/libstdc++*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 262024 2008-07-15 12:08 /usr/lib/libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 721364 2008-07-15 14:09 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.7
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 966072 2008-11-05 07:14 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 2008-12-06 22:22 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 -> libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 -> libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.7

Try creating a symbolic link (ln) to the missing file as shown above. :)

okonita
2nd March 2009, 06:56 PM
Sometimes you could just link the files, this is what I have:


[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ls -ltr /usr/lib/libstdc++*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 262024 2008-07-15 12:08 /usr/lib/libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 721364 2008-07-15 14:09 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.7
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 966072 2008-11-05 07:14 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 2008-12-06 22:22 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 -> libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 -> libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.7

Try creating a symbolic link (ln) to the missing file as shown above. :)

cable_txg, thanks for your suggestion. Could you show example how to create a symbolic link? I am not savvy with Linux...

cable_txg
2nd March 2009, 07:05 PM
Examples shown in bold:


[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ls -ltr
total 84
-rw-rw-r-- 1 cable_txg cable_txg 279 2008-03-31 23:22 cabletxg.revoke
-rw-rw-r-- 1 cable_txg cable_txg 1344 2008-03-31 23:24 cabletxg.asc
drwxr-xr-x 2 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2008-12-07 07:50 Templates
drwxr-xr-x 2 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2008-12-07 07:50 Public
drwxr-xr-x 2 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2008-12-07 11:40 Music
drwxr-xr-x 4 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2008-12-07 13:48 Videos
drwxr-xr-x 2 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2008-12-31 14:16 Desktop
drwxr-xr-x 16 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2009-02-06 22:13 Documents
drwxr-xr-x 3 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2009-02-19 20:41 Download
drwxr-xr-x 5 cable_txg cable_txg 4096 2009-02-22 21:59 Pictures
-rw-rw-r-- 1 cable_txg cable_txg 6 2009-03-02 12:59 jTest
[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ln -s jTest junk; ls -ltr j*
-rw-rw-r-- 1 cable_txg cable_txg 6 2009-03-02 12:59 jTest
lrwxrwxrwx 1 cable_txg cable_txg 5 2009-03-02 13:02 junk -> jTest
[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ rm junk
[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ls -ltr j*
-rw-rw-r-- 1 cable_txg cable_txg 6 2009-03-02 12:59 jTest

The remove command (rm), just shows you how to remove the linked file.
The basic command is such:
ln -s <original file> <link name>

okonita
2nd March 2009, 07:06 PM
Sometimes you could just link the files, this is what I have:


[cable_txg@RogueCode ~]$ ls -ltr /usr/lib/libstdc++*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 262024 2008-07-15 12:08 /usr/lib/libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 721364 2008-07-15 14:09 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.7
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 966072 2008-11-05 07:14 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 2008-12-06 22:22 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 -> libstdc++.so.6.0.10
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 -> libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 2008-12-06 22:24 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.7

Try creating a symbolic link (ln) to the missing file as shown above. :)

Also, I tried your suggestion and got the following:

[user1@HomeLaptop-1 ~]$ ls -ltr /usr/lib/libstdc++*
ls: cannot access /usr/lib/libstdc++*: No such file or directory

stefan1975
2nd March 2009, 07:14 PM
symlinking files can *so* break your system in the long run, especially in a year or so when this hack has been all but forgotten and the lib is updated to libstdc++.so.6 or something and that way killing your symlink causing the applications depending on it to break.

the error it gives you might indicate that libstdc++.so.5 is not installed at all (which it isn't by default)



yum whatprovides libstdc++.so.5
yum install compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64


this will give you libstdc++.so.5 so maybe there is no need for symlinks at all?

stefan

okonita
2nd March 2009, 07:18 PM
symlinking files can *so* break your system in the long run, especially in a year or so when this hack has been all but forgotten and the lib is updated to libstdc++.so.6 or something and that way killing your symlink causing the applications depending on it to break.

the error it gives you might indicate that libstdc++.so.5 is not installed at all (which it isn't by default)



yum whatprovides libstdc++.so.5
yum install compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64


this will give you libstdc++.so.5 so maybe there is no need for symlinks at all?

stefan

Thanks stephan. Is "whatprovides" used literarily?

okonita
2nd March 2009, 07:26 PM
symlinking files can *so* break your system in the long run, especially in a year or so when this hack has been all but forgotten and the lib is updated to libstdc++.so.6 or something and that way killing your symlink causing the applications depending on it to break.

the error it gives you might indicate that libstdc++.so.5 is not installed at all (which it isn't by default)



yum whatprovides libstdc++.so.5
yum install compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64


this will give you libstdc++.so.5 so maybe there is no need for symlinks at all?

stefan

I just tried the above yums and I got this. What could my problem be?

Trying other mirror.
http://gulus.usherbrooke.ca/pub/distro/fedora/linux/updates/10/x86_64/glibc-common-2.9-3.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-2, 'Name or service not known')>
Trying other mirror.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total 76 MB/s | 36 MB 00:00


Error Downloading Packages:
glibc-2.9-3.x86_64: failure: glibc-2.9-3.x86_64.rpm from updates: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
glibc-headers-2.9-3.x86_64: failure: glibc-headers-2.9-3.x86_64.rpm from updates: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
glibc-2.9-3.i686: failure: glibc-2.9-3.i686.rpm from updates: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
libgcc-4.3.2-7.i386: failure: Packages/libgcc-4.3.2-7.i386.rpm from fedora: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64.i386: failure: Packages/compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64.i386.rpm from fedora: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
glibc-devel-2.9-3.x86_64: failure: glibc-devel-2.9-3.x86_64.rpm from updates: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
glibc-common-2.9-3.x86_64: failure: glibc-common-2.9-3.x86_64.rpm from updates: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.

cable_txg
2nd March 2009, 07:27 PM
symlinking files can *so* break your system in the long run, especially in a year or so when this hack has been all but forgotten and the lib is updated to libstdc++.so.6 or something and that way killing your symlink causing the applications depending on it to break.

the error it gives you might indicate that libstdc++.so.5 is not installed at all (which it isn't by default)



yum whatprovides libstdc++.so.5
yum install compat-libstdc++-33-3.2.3-64


this will give you libstdc++.so.5 so maybe there is no need for symlinks at all?

stefan

Thanks for the correction :) , I normally don't do minor updates until a major update occurs (like from v1 to v2 and not v1.0 to v1.1), but it's good to know.

cable_txg
2nd March 2009, 07:30 PM
Do you have livna repository installed? Post this:
[B][ls -ltr /etc/yum.repos.d//B]

okonita
2nd March 2009, 07:45 PM
Do you have livna repository installed? Post this:
[B][ls -ltr /etc/yum.repos.d//B]


For some reason, the ls -ltr is not working correctly in Fedora 10 for me. Here is what I did. At the bottom is yum.repos.d

[user1@HomeLaptop-1 ~]$ ls -ltr /etc/yum.repos.d//B
ls: cannot access /etc/yum.repos.d//B: No such file or directory

[user1@HomeLaptop-1 ~]$ cd /etc

[user1@HomeLaptop-1 etc]$ ls
a2ps modprobe.d
a2ps.cfg mono
a2ps-site.cfg motd
acpi mtab
adjtime multipath.conf
aliases Muttrc
aliases.db Muttrc.local
alsa my.cnf
alternatives netconfig
anacrontab netplug
anthy-conf netplug.d
asound.conf NetworkManager
asound.state networks
at.deny nscd.conf
audisp nsswitch.conf
audit ntp
avahi ntp.conf
bash_completion.d obex-data-server
bashrc openldap
blkid opt
bluetooth PackageKit
bonobo-activation pam.d
capi.conf pam_pkcs11
chkconfig.d pam_smb.conf
ConsoleKit pango
cron.d papersize
cron.daily passwd
cron.deny passwd-
cron.hourly pcmcia
cron.monthly php.d
crontab php.ini
cron.weekly pinforc
csh.cshrc pki
csh.login pm
cups pm-utils-hd-apm-restore.conf
dbus-1 PolicyKit
default popt.d
depmod.d portreserve
dhcp6c.conf ppp
DIR_COLORS prelink.cache
DIR_COLORS.256color prelink.conf
DIR_COLORS.xterm prelink.conf.d
dirmngr printcap
dnsmasq.conf profile
dnsmasq.d profile.d
dumpdates protocols
enscript.cfg pulse
environment purple
esd.conf quotagrpadmins
ethers quotatab
event.d rc
exports rc0.d
favicon.png rc1.d
fb.modes rc2.d
fedora-release rc3.d
festival rc4.d
filesystems rc5.d
fonts rc6.d
foomatic rc.d
fstab rc.local
gconf rc.sysinit
gcrypt reader.conf
gdm reader.conf.d
ggz.modules redhat-lsb
ghostscript redhat-release
gimp resolv.conf
gnome-vfs-2.0 rmt
gnome-vfs-mime-magic rpc
gnupg rpm
gpm-root.conf rsyslog.conf
gpm-syn.conf rwtab
gpm-twiddler.conf rwtab.d
gre.d samba
group sane.d
group- sasl2
grub.conf scim
gshadow scsi_id.config
gshadow- securetty
gssapi_mech.conf security
gtk-2.0 selinux
hal sensors3.conf
host.conf services
hosts sestatus.conf
hosts.allow setroubleshoot
hosts.deny setuptool.d
hp sgml
html2psrc shadow
httpd shadow-
idmapd.conf shells
init.d skel
initlog.conf slrn.rc
inittab smartd.conf
inputrc smolt
iproute2 smrsh
isdn snmp
issue sound
issue.net squid
java ssh
jvm statetab
jvm-commmon statetab.d
jwhois.conf stunnel
kde subversion
kernel sudoers
kerneloops.conf sysconfig
krb5.conf sysctl.conf
ldap.conf system-release
ld.so.cache system-release-cpe
ld.so.conf terminfo
ld.so.conf.d texmf
lftp.conf Trolltech.conf
libaudit.conf udev
libpaper.d updatedb.conf
libuser.conf updatedb.conf.BeforeVMwareToolsInstall
localtime urlview.conf
login.defs vimrc
logrotate.conf virc
logrotate.d vmware-tools
logwatch warnquota.conf
lsb-release.d webalizer.conf
ltrace.conf wgetrc
lvm wpa_supplicant
mail wvdial.conf
mailcap X11
mail.rc xdg
makedev.d xinetd.d
man.config xml
maven yp.conf
mime.types yum
minicom.users yum.conf
mke2fs.conf yum.repos.d
modprobe.conf
[user1@HomeLaptop-1 etc]$

stefan1975
2nd March 2009, 07:50 PM
from what i can tell the /B should not have been included in the suggested command.It has to be:

ls -altr /etc/yum.repos.d

but better would be to do it the yum way:



yum repolist




[root@enterprise ~]# yum repolist
Loaded plugins: protectbase, refresh-packagekit
repo id repo name status
adobe-linux-i386 Adobe Systems Incorporated enabled: 17
fedora Fedora 10 - i386 enabled: 11,416
rpmfusion-free RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Free enabled: 324
rpmfusion-free-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Free - Upda enabled: 477
rpmfusion-nonfree RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Nonfree enabled: 142
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Nonfree - U enabled: 313
updates Fedora 10 - i386 - Updates enabled: 3,849
repolist: 16,538


seems you have a repo problem here.

what does this do:


$ su -
# yum clean all
# yum update

stefan

cable_txg
2nd March 2009, 07:57 PM
That must have been a paste issue I encountered.... sorry about that.

okonita
2nd March 2009, 09:03 PM
from what i can tell the /B should not have been included in the suggested command.It has to be:

ls -altr /etc/yum.repos.d

but better would be to do it the yum way:



yum repolist




[root@enterprise ~]# yum repolist
Loaded plugins: protectbase, refresh-packagekit
repo id repo name status
adobe-linux-i386 Adobe Systems Incorporated enabled: 17
fedora Fedora 10 - i386 enabled: 11,416
rpmfusion-free RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Free enabled: 324
rpmfusion-free-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Free - Upda enabled: 477
rpmfusion-nonfree RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Nonfree enabled: 142
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 10 - Nonfree - U enabled: 313
updates Fedora 10 - i386 - Updates enabled: 3,849
repolist: 16,538


seems you have a repo problem here.

what does this do:


$ su -
# yum clean all
# yum update

stefan

stefan1975,

I am not having any luck with this...here's the latest attempt and what I got:
[root@HomeLaptop-1 ~]# ls -altr /etc/yum.repos.d
total 32
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-10-29 10:30 .
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1181 2008-11-06 15:06 fedora-updates-testing.repo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1108 2008-11-06 15:06 fedora-updates.repo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1090 2008-11-06 15:06 fedora.repo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1962 2008-11-06 15:06 fedora-rawhide.repo
drwxr-xr-x 119 root root 12288 2009-03-02 12:59 ..

[root@HomeLaptop-1 ~]# yum repolist
repo id repo name status
fedora Fedora 10 - x86_64 enabled : 14,303
updates Fedora 10 - x86_64 - Updates enabled : 4,742
repolist: 19,045


[root@HomeLaptop-1 ~]# yum clean all
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Cleaning up Everything


[root@HomeLaptop-1 ~]# yum update
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=fedora-10&arch=x86_64 error was
[Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-2, 'Name or service not known')>
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

stefan1975
2nd March 2009, 09:07 PM
are you connected to the internet at all? it seems as if it cannot connect to the fedora mirrors to get the updates list?

does:

ping www.google.com

work at all?
stefan

okonita
2nd March 2009, 09:10 PM
are you connected to the internet at all? it seems as if it cannot connect to the fedora mirrors to get the updates list?

does:

ping www.google.com

work at all?
stefan


Yes ping google works:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Anyanso>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.l.google.com [66.102.1.104] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=242

Ping statistics for 66.102.1.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 48ms, Maximum = 50ms, Average = 49ms

stefan1975
2nd March 2009, 09:14 PM
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]


errr what? that is windows! are you trying to "yum install" stuff in redmond's distro?
pinging from windows does not say anything, just that windows is connected to the internet not that fedora is or that you nic is supported and working under fedora. can you connect to the internet in fedora?

stefan

okonita
2nd March 2009, 09:38 PM
errr what? that is windows! are you trying to "yum install" stuff in redmond's distro?
pinging from windows does not say anything, just that windows is connected to the internet not that fedora is or that you nic is supported and working under fedora. can you connect to the internet in fedora?

stefan

No! No! Stefan1975...I am yumming in Fedora. But when you said ping google, my windows instinct kicked in and I did from win-command prompt...okay, I try ping from Fedora but I don't know how (yet)...could describe?

okonita
2nd March 2009, 09:41 PM
errr what? that is windows! are you trying to "yum install" stuff in redmond's distro?
pinging from windows does not say anything, just that windows is connected to the internet not that fedora is or that you nic is supported and working under fedora. can you connect to the internet in fedora?

stefan

Ok,

[root@HomeLaptop-1 ~]# ping 66.102.1.104
connect: Network is unreachable

stefan1975
2nd March 2009, 09:43 PM
well pretty much the same as in windows, fire up a terminal (called konsole in KDE or gnome-terminal, it should be in the "start menu" somewhere) giving you a DOS-like box with a "$" prompt in which you just type "ping www.google.nl" or if you just want to test the internet surfing with firefox would do the trick as well, or check the Networkmanager status in your system-tray.

stefan

okonita
2nd March 2009, 09:56 PM
well pretty much the same as in windows, fire up a terminal (called konsole in KDE or gnome-terminal, it should be in the "start menu" somewhere) giving you a DOS-like box with a "$" prompt in which you just type "ping www.google.nl" or if you just want to test the internet surfing with firefox would do the trick as well, or check the Networkmanager status in your system-tray.

stefan

I can reach google.com.nl from windows but can't from fedora - network not reachable

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Anyanso>ping 66.102.1.104

Pinging 66.102.1.104 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=242
Reply from 66.102.1.104: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=242

Ping statistics for 66.102.1.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 49ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 50ms

C:\Users\Anyanso>ping www.google.nl

Pinging www.l.google.com [66.102.1.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.102.1.99: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.102.1.99: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.102.1.99: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.102.1.99: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=241

Ping statistics for 66.102.1.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 50ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 50ms

okonita
2nd March 2009, 10:02 PM
well pretty much the same as in windows, fire up a terminal (called konsole in KDE or gnome-terminal, it should be in the "start menu" somewhere) giving you a DOS-like box with a "$" prompt in which you just type "ping www.google.nl" or if you just want to test the internet surfing with firefox would do the trick as well, or check the Networkmanager status in your system-tray.

stefan

PS: I don't believe I have KDE (I could be wrong since I am not too familiar with Fedora) and Firefox is unable to connect to the internet. I think I have a connection problem indeed with Fedora...

Where do I begin to look for a connection solution?

Thanks