PDA

View Full Version : The Fedora x86-64 KDE ISO doesn't fit on a CD



actaea
6th February 2009, 05:06 PM
K3B won't burn the ISO, because it won't fit on a CD. I suppose it can be burned to a DVD, but a blank DVD costs two to four times as much. Please try to keep the ISO's CD size--especially when they are so close (only 182kb).

leigh123linux
6th February 2009, 05:10 PM
Have you tried the overburn setting ?

http://www.cdmediaworld.com/hardware/cdrom/cd_oversize.shtml

Hlingler
6th February 2009, 05:10 PM
Unfortunately, your feedback will produce no results here, since there are few (or no) Fedora developers monitoring these forums. Please direct your comments to: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Communicate

By the way, is k3b set to allow over-burning?

V

actaea
6th February 2009, 05:46 PM
Thanks for telling me about overburning! I had disassembled the ISO and reassembled it without the flash screens to make it smaller.

I'm now wondering if it's worth communicating this to the developers in the appropriate channel. I suppose most people who want to try the Alpha will find out about overburning--if they read this forum, which is a logical place to look.

To get overburning in K3B, you pull down the Setting menu, select Configure K3B, select Advanced, and overburning is the second click box down.

AntMan
6th February 2009, 07:05 PM
I stopped using CD's to test the Alphas and Betas; USB flash all the way baby....

RahulSundaram
7th February 2009, 12:14 PM
Hi,

Known issue.

https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-list/2009-February/msg00585.html

As the post above indicates, it is way better to use USB's for testing.