PDA

View Full Version : X-Fi Titanium and no sound in Fedora 10



brutaltruth
23rd January 2009, 05:35 AM
First let me start of that I consider myself a fairly new to Linux but am willing to learn everything I can in order to make this my primary OS. With that said, I cannot get my Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium sound card (PCI Express x1) to work in Fedora 10 x64.

The steps I have taken:

1. I have went to the creative website and downloaded the latest Linux drivers and did the installation per the README instructions included like this:


[jlott@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost jlott]# cd XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00/
[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]# make
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64/build M=/home/jlott/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64'
Building modules, stage 2.
MODPOST 1 modules
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64'


Then I:


[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]# make install
Copy module files...
Update module dependency relationships...
[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]# \

After all said and done, I reboot the machine and to my surprise, there is no sound.


2. So knowing that I dont have any sound, I make sure that the module is loaded by doing this:


[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]# lsmod | grep ctxfi
ctxfi 75432 0
snd_pcm 84360 2 ctxfi,snd_pcm_oss
snd 70392 9 ctxfi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_de vice,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]#


Im not sure what this means exactly but I think that the modules loaded correctly.

3. Just to make sure, I run this to see if even my sound card is detected:


[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]# cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---
[root@localhost XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00]#



So apparently, Fedora thinks my sound card is not installed. My question to all of you is how do I get my sound working and get my sound card recognized. My on board sound is disabled and under System>Prefences>Hardware>Sound, I have null output (pulse audio) for playback. What are my next steps to take in order to resolve this issue? I am grateful to all the help you guys provide. If this helps, here is my system specs:

Q9550 2.83ghz
EVGA 790 Ulta Sli Motherboard
4gb of DDR3
Nvidia GTX280 video card
Areca 1210 PCI-E RAID controller.

marko
23rd January 2009, 06:06 AM
Try running

alsa-info --no-upload

then examine the contents of /tmp/alsa-info.txt

It might be a good idea to use the lspci command to confirm the X-Fi card is visible to the OS
(look for a "Audio Device" entry in the listing)

marcrblevins
23rd January 2009, 06:06 AM
Card not installed?
Try:


lspci


Dang, marko beats me. :P

brutaltruth
23rd January 2009, 06:16 AM
I ran the alsa information and got this:


upload=true&script=true&cardinfo=
!!################################
!!ALSA Information Script v 0.4.52
!!################################

!!Script ran on: Thu Jan 22 21:10:43 PST 2009


!!Linux Distribution
!!------------------

Fedora release 10 (Cambridge) Fedora release 10 (Cambridge) Fedora release 10 (Cambridge) Fedora release 10 (Cambridge)


!!Kernel Information
!!------------------

Kernel release: 2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64
Operating System: GNU/Linux
Architecture: x86_64
Processor: x86_64
SMP Enabled: Yes


!!ALSA Version
!!------------

Driver version: 1.0.18a
Library version: 1.0.19
Utilities version: 1.0.18


!!Loaded ALSA modules
!!-------------------



!!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
!!-----------------------------

--- no soundcards ---


!!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
!!--------------------------------------

06:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Device 000b (rev 03)


!!Advanced information - PCI Vendor/Device/Susbsystem ID's
!!--------------------------------------------------------

06:00.0 0403: 1102:000b (rev 03)
Subsystem: 1102:0043


!!Loaded sound module options
!!--------------------------


!!ALSA Device nodes
!!-----------------

crw-rw----+ 1 root root 116, 3 2009-01-22 18:10 /dev/snd/seq
crw-rw----+ 1 root root 116, 2 2009-01-22 18:10 /dev/snd/timer


!!ALSA configuration files
!!------------------------

!!System wide config file (/etc/asound.conf)

#
# Place your global alsa-lib configuration here...
#

@hooks [
{
func load
files [
"/etc/alsa/pulse-default.conf"
]
errors false
}
]


!!Aplay/Arecord output
!!------------

APLAY

aplay: device_list:217: no soundcards found...

ARECORD

arecord: device_list:217: no soundcards found...

!!Amixer output
!!-------------


!!Alsactl output
!!-------------

--startcollapse--
--endcollapse--


!!All Loaded Modules
!!------------------

Module
nls_utf8
vfat
fat
udf
crc_itu_t
tun
fuse
ipt_MASQUERADE
iptable_nat
nf_nat
bridge
stp
bnep
sco
l2cap
bluetooth
sunrpc
ip6t_REJECT
nf_conntrack_ipv6
ip6table_filter
ip6_tables
ipv6
dm_multipath
kvm_intel
kvm
uinput
ata_generic
ctxfi
snd_seq_dummy
snd_seq_oss
snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq
snd_seq_device
snd_pcm_oss
snd_mixer_oss
snd_pcm
jedec_probe
pata_acpi
cfi_probe
gen_probe
snd_timer
snd
nvidia
mtd
soundcore
chipreg
snd_page_alloc
map_funcs
forcedeth
i2c_nforce2
pata_amd
joydev
usblp
serio_raw
i2c_core
usb_storage
pcspkr
shpchp
arcmsr


Furthmore I ran lspci command and it seems like it see the audio device


[jlott@localhost ~]$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0800 (rev b1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0808 (rev a1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0809 (rev a1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080a (rev a1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080b (rev a1)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080c (rev b1)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080d (rev a1)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080e (rev a1)
00:01.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080f (rev a1)
00:01.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0810 (rev a1)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0811 (rev a1)
00:01.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0812 (rev a1)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0813 (rev a1)
00:01.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0814 (rev a1)
00:01.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 081a (rev a1)
00:01.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 080e (rev a1)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0815 (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0817 (rev a1)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:11.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:12.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 05e1 (rev a1)
02:00.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 80333 Segment-A PCI Express-to-PCI Express Bridge
02:00.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 80333 Segment-B PCI Express-to-PCI Express Bridge
03:0e.0 RAID bus controller: Areca Technology Corp. ARC-1210 4-Port PCI-Express to SATA RAID Controller
05:09.0 Host bridge: Freescale Semiconductor Inc MPC8343E (rev 11)
06:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Device 000b (rev 03)
[jlott@localhost ~]$


Once again, thanks for the help and quick replies. Where do I go from here?

ogetbilo
25th January 2009, 10:09 AM
could you try the latest driver? I guess it is this one:
http://connect.creativelabs.com/opensource/Wiki/SoundCard%20Support.aspx