PDA

View Full Version : Evolution and Exchange Server problem(again!) ?



vaclinux
21st January 2009, 07:52 AM
Dear guys,

I have installed the recent evolution in my FC10 box,
I thought evolution should be the best option for MS.Exchange client of linux user.
But still, it has problem to connect to Exchange,
Error display on evolution

"Error while reconnecting to server"
Below, some package related to my Exchange


[c@c]$ rpm -qa | grep evo
evolution-2.24.2-3.fc10.x86_64
evolution-brutus-1.2.27-2.fc10.x86_64
evolution-data-server-2.24.2-1.fc10.x86_64


See forward for any replay

Wayne
21st January 2009, 08:02 AM
I am probably wrong, as usual, but isn't this package needed:

evolution-exchange

Wayne

vaclinux
21st January 2009, 08:33 AM
Ehm i havent try that package, Why?
What i understand from this link (http://www.go-evolution.org/FAQ);FAQ of evolution
I have just need the brutus plugin since MS exchange server is 2007(5.5).
Correct me,If i am wrong.

SlowJet
21st January 2009, 11:37 AM
That is correct but the FAQ for exchange server has 3 parts.
(And it doesn't say specifically that exchange server is NOT used.
Make sure the "Exchange plugin" is enabled under "Edit | Plugins".)

1. You need brutus to connect via mapi (and maybe evolution-exchange/?)
2.You need to edit the evolution setting to use the plug-in (exchange, brutis or just plugin?).
3. Make sure you use "domain\user" and not "domain/user" in the "Evolution Account Editor > Windows Username".

If all those don't work see https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-test-list/2009-January/msg00325.html and ask some questions.

SJ

fwelland
21st January 2009, 05:10 PM
The other post have good info -- here is some more data/info for you...(FWIW -- I have been using Evo against Exchange 2k3 for about a year with good success; first from FC8 and now F10):

Evolution + Brutus *appears* to require a brutus server. This server runs on a Widows box and bascially translates mapi to CORBA stuff (if I recall correctly). The evo-brutus plugin works/talks to the brutus server not exchange. Brutus comes from these guys: http://www.42tools.com/ It looks cool/good -- never tried it...


evolution-exchange uses OWA (outlook web access). OWA is a funny WebDav like thing. On your exchange you just new OWA to be running.

You can also get Evo to work with exchange via IMAP -- Your Exchange must have IMAP turned on.


My RPMs under F10 as related to Evo are:

evolution-help-2.24.2-3.fc10.i386
evolution-exchange-2.24.2-1.fc10.i386
evolution-data-server-devel-2.24.2-1.fc10.i386
evolution-2.24.2-3.fc10.i386
evolution-data-server-2.24.2-1.fc10.i386
evolution-data-server-doc-2.24.2-1.fc10.i386
evolution-webcal-2.23.91-1.fc10.i386
evolution-perl-2.24.2-3.fc10.i386


As mentioned above -- My Evo to exchange is working pretty well. I get good email support, I can get to the address book. And I can do most of the calendar stuff.



good luck and have fun...

vaclinux
23rd January 2009, 09:28 AM
Make sure the "Exchange plugin" is enabled under "Edit | Plugins".)

I have installed the exchange plugin(sure for it), it doesnt diplay in the "Edit|Plugins", but it does display in the server type drop down menu under "Account Setting | Receiving Email" (Microsoft Exchange)
So, i assumed plugin Exchange is installed and enabled.




1. You need brutus to connect via mapi (and maybe evolution-exchange/?)
2.You need to edit the evolution setting to use the plug-in (exchange, brutis or just plugin?).
.
I am not really understand with those point, What kind of edit i need to do?

Current result still failed to authenticate, below is the configuration that i used.

Username : Adomain\Ausername
OWA URL : https://owa.Aserver/exchange
Mailbox : (Empty)
Authenticate failed Message:
Could not authenticate to server.

Make sure the username and password are correct and try aga

Is there any other suggestion ?
Thank for your respond

fwelland
23rd January 2009, 03:22 PM
There are several ways to get to Exchange via Evo. Here are a few:


BRUTUS -- this requires a middle-ware (windows based) brutus-server to 'bridge the gap' between Exchange and non-Outlook and non-Mapi clients. On the Evo side, you use the Evolution/Brutus plugin.

OWA/Evolution-Exchange connector -- this uses EXCHANGE's OWA.

IMAP/SMTP -- Evo has this support builtin; however exchange typically doesn't have IMAP services turned on.

I have had good luck with OWA/Evolution-Exchange. (I have never tried the other two).

After you install the evolution-exchange support, I don't really see anything different in the Edit->Plugins dialog. The only way I can tell it's there is that when you make a new account, there is an option for "Microsoft Exchange" on the server type drop down in the new account wizard.


When you fill in the Exchange settings during the wizard or while editing an exchange account, here are some things that have worked for me:

The OWA URL -- this should be the same or simmilar to what you use to get to your outlook web mail via a browser. NOTE: often the OWA URL is different when you connect via a browser thru the wild-internet. When you are connected in you corporate/office network the OWA URL may be different. In my case; while on the wild-internet I must use SSL/https to get to the WebOutlook. On my coporate lan and in my EVO/Exchange set up I can use just http (this maybe important -- I see yours says HTTPS...)

Your user name -- this is your DOMAIN account. Or typically that is what it is. I suppose there are other ways to authenticate in Exchange -- but I bet most of the type this is youd domain account's user name

Your Domain account's password.

Mail Box: I have this as my First Lastname. I found that out by using the real outlook client on a Windows machine and gathering information about my account .

I can't give much guidance on the authentication type -- I have mine set to plain text and that works for me.


have fun.