PDA

View Full Version : Local apps not working when LDAP login



AbsoluteMonkey
2nd January 2009, 03:22 AM
I setup LDAP login on my F10 installation.
But I can't seem to run any of the apps after I've logged in, for instance firefox just hangs.
If I open a terminal and su to root, I can run firefox under root.

Is this how ldap works? Or did I mess something up?

Thanks.

vginov
4th January 2009, 11:20 AM
Dear AbsoluteMonkey,
I am just a Web Administrator. My new requirement is to implement Web login with LDAP service. I was reading many article about it no where i could get the proper information about LDAP. Can you please tell me how to configure LDAP as as web login page. I am using Fedora 10. I am also giving the guides to do everything with Linux step by step. Only what i know because i would like to help people to get the IT free of cost. You can take a look at it in http://www.vginov.com. Your guidance may help me a lot. Thanks in advance.

AbsoluteMonkey
4th January 2009, 08:20 PM
I'm not sure how to setup it up for login. But this may help to how to setup LDAP.
http://fedoranews.org/mediawiki/index.php/How_to_setup_and_maintain_OpenLDAP_server_for_your _network

Maybe if you give me more info on why you need a web login for ldap I might be able to give you further information.

vginov
5th January 2009, 01:21 AM
Dear AbsoluteMonkey,

thanks a lot for your Quick response. The link is great. I am going through it. I think I may understand it after one or two experiments.

My need is here: If you have done before then you can help me.

I am having an intranet. I want the local system users should be able to login to the intranet site without creating an username for the intranet. I deployed moodle package. In moodle they have an option called Administration >> Users >> Authentication >> Manage authentication >Enable LPAD Server. I am planning to use it.

Thanks a lot for your help and if you know how to get this to work please share it with us.

Thanks once again.

AbsoluteMonkey
5th January 2009, 02:11 AM
Sorry I don't think I can be of further help. I've never done anything like that.
As for login, I believe the user needs to be authenticated thru gdm with the method you spoke of: Admin->Users_>Auth.... in order to access the nfs drive.

vginov
5th January 2009, 02:15 AM
Dear AbsoluteMonkey,

Thanks again. I will be looking for it and experiment it and once i finished it i will give the guidelines on my site. So if any people are in the same need then they could get it. http://www.vginov.com/

Thanks a lot