PDA

View Full Version : dvd download problem - overshoot

whatislinux
21st August 2004, 06:48 AM
Hi. I am a newbie who hasn't used Fedora or Red Hat before.

I used "wget -c" to download the fedora dvd. It downloaded ok, but then it went passed it's expected file size. I am downloading from planetmirror (an Aussie mirror). I let it go for a while, and then I thought "this can't be right". I tried another Aussie mirror... same thing happen. Then, I tried a US mirror and wget refused to keep going - i.e. it said the file was fully downloaded.

I have no idea what's going on, but can someone please tell me how I can fix the ISO? It's taken me a very very long time to download and I don't want to throw it away and re-download. I tried to burn it with Nero but it keeps complaining about "foreign image file" and "block size"... I don't know what's going there.

So yeah.. how can I chop the ISO back to it's 'right' size, if possible :confused:

Thanks for any replies.

foolish
21st August 2004, 12:00 PM
I'm sorry, but the ISOs are sensitive. I would say you have to redownload. If you're on a low bandwidth, get the ISOs from a magazine or if there's a Linux User Group (LUG) around you, I'm sure they can help you.

kosmosik
21st August 2004, 12:19 PM
be carefull with files over 2GB some filesystems (ext3?) not support such files...

ghaefb
21st August 2004, 12:39 PM
Yes, ext3 maximum file size is 2Gb.
You should consider using ReiserFS "Maximum files size 210 petabytes" :)

whatislinux
21st August 2004, 01:07 PM
ahahahah dammit dammit dammit dammit :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

hehe... I've wasted half my download limit!!

Anyways, thanks for your reply guys. I'll try to get the CD.

Stay Linux :p

ghaefb
21st August 2004, 01:51 PM
Stay Linux :p
This is a good one :)

whatislinux
22nd August 2004, 07:11 AM
This is a good one :)

Now if only we can get the world to try Linux...

jakot
20th May 2005, 05:17 AM