PDA

View Full Version : Problem opening Nautilus..



Nostalgia
19th August 2004, 09:55 PM
I think i spelled that correctly..

Anyway, i get an error message everytime i boot to Linux that tells me Nautilus failed to open.

Nos.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 01:02 AM
Aye! I don't even know what the program is..

Nos.

fjleal
20th August 2004, 01:17 AM
Can you post the message? That'd help for sure.

Jman
20th August 2004, 01:42 AM
Nautilus is the Gnome file manager (http://gnome.org/projects/nautilus/). I think it also has functions on the desktop, but I'm not sure.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 02:12 AM
Oh crap.. how can i fix this then?

Reinstalling won't work, because i've installed multiple times.

Nos.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 02:22 AM
The error is as follows:

"The Application "nautilus" has quit unexpectedly.

You can inform the developers of what happened to help them fix it. Or you can restart the application right now."

Nos.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 02:41 AM
This certainly is causing some problems - i can't browse my filesystem!

Nos.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 04:52 PM
Hmm...

Nos.

Harryc
20th August 2004, 04:55 PM
Oh crap.. how can i fix this then?

Reinstalling won't work, because i've installed multiple times.

Nos.Are you saying that you've reinstalled Fedora Core several times from scratch and you get this same error? If so, get new install CD's.

Nostalgia
20th August 2004, 04:56 PM
Yes, i have. This install is actually quite new, as well. Only a couple of days, but i have always had this error.

Get new install CD's?! All i did was burn the ISOs..

Nos.

Harryc
20th August 2004, 05:46 PM
Yes, i have. This install is actually quite new, as well. Only a couple of days, but i have always had this error.

Get new install CD's?! All i did was burn the ISOs..

Nos.Well, if you've installed several times and get the same error, one of the Cd's is bad...or it is possible you have a bad sector or 2 on your hard drive.

lightismagic
20th August 2004, 06:31 PM
Are you running the x86_64 version? There is a post in the AMD64 forum called "Nautilus won't run". Excellent how-to to fix the problem... as long as your problem is the same...

regards
lightismagic

Nostalgia
21st August 2004, 03:16 AM
Yep, AMD 64. Thanks for the tip.

Nos.

Nostalgia
21st August 2004, 03:28 AM
I searched, there is no such thread.

Nos.

lightismagic
21st August 2004, 04:48 PM
Maybe you have to go back in time a little bit further. The thread started at 2004-07-05 and is called "Nautilus won't run" indeed.
Basically you have to patch the Orbit package, the link to the patch and a how-to is also in that thread. As a qick workaround you can try to disable on of your cdrom-drives in /etc/fstab (if you have two drives, for example cdrom and cdrw). The error has something to do with the amounts of devices to mount...

regards

Nostalgia
23rd August 2004, 09:27 PM
I'm not getting any matches for the search, can you perhaps supply me with a link to it?

Nos.

tashirosgt
23rd August 2004, 10:13 PM
If you have an X86_64 distribution maybe its the same bug as:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=122087