PDA

View Full Version : 8GB Ram - Huge Benefit or Not

kdchapman1776
23rd December 2008, 04:12 PM
Let me start by saying I have searched the forums for some kind of answer to this without any luck. I am relatively new to Linux/Fedora and I am running F9 X86_64. I am currently running 4GB of Ram on the box and having NO problems whatsoever.

I am wondering if I would see a benefit to adding 8GB ram to the machine.

If anyone can direct me to some resources to read on this subject or can offer some insight I would be much appreciative. Thank you.

JN4OldSchool
23rd December 2008, 04:21 PM
Depends on what you do I suppose. You are currently running 4GB RAM, do you see any advantage over say, 2GB? I would venture to say you do not. My experience has been that 2GB is all I really need so far. I have 4GB in my big computer and 3GB in this laptop. I do not see any advantage on either computer to my other computers which run between 1 and 2GB. However, as cheap as RAM currently is ($30 for 2 2GB sticks of Kingston DDR2) I would not dream of building anything with less than 4GB as of today.

Another thing make darn sure your mobo can utilize 8GB. Most do, but some have a 4GB limit.

I think that even though it is probably a foolish expense I would get the 8GB just for my peace of mind. It might just be psychological, but it feels good saying, "Ram? Oh, I have 8GB!"

pete_1967
23rd December 2008, 04:24 PM
Does your system regularly trash the HD when accessing swap? If not, then no, you don't benefit of more RAM at all (except bragging rights).

In normal day-to-day use (browsing, email, bit of word processign etc), you'll barely use 1Gb.

kdchapman1776
23rd December 2008, 04:30 PM