PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Access rpm fusion



Louisda16th
21st December 2008, 02:00 PM
Since yesterday, I haven't been able to use the rpmfusion repository - in yum and packagekit. Their website does not open either. So I checked if it opens through a proxy site and it did. I'm suspecting a SELinux problem here but I'm not sure. Please help me fix this problem.
Thanks in advance :)

Sauron
21st December 2008, 05:53 PM
I wouldn't neccessarily think that - there's been a major cable cut near Egypt which depending on which mirror you're trying to hit, where your provider is, who they use for uplinks, etc etc etc may create issues.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7792688.stm

Louisda16th
21st December 2008, 06:47 PM
But how does that explain the fact I can open the rpmfusion homepage through a proxy site? It shouldn't open even that way right?

Seve
21st December 2008, 07:07 PM
Hello:
See if you can open this site
http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mm/publiclist/
and if so, try out some of the listed mirrors.

Seve

Louisda16th
21st December 2008, 07:20 PM
Nope. Does not open. Opens only through a proxy. I can't open the site in windows either.

Sauron
21st December 2008, 07:20 PM
But how does that explain the fact I can open the rpmfusion homepage through a proxy site? It shouldn't open even that way right?

Your ISP might have issues getting to the site where the ISP serving the proxy server might not. It all depends on your ISP and how it and the remote server are plumbed into the net. There's dozens of possible reasons why you can't get to a site that someone else can.

Louisda16th
23rd December 2008, 05:08 PM
Hey! The repository is working for me now. It must've been that cable problem. Thanks for your help :-)

dhimes
26th March 2009, 11:59 AM
This is a great find http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mm/publiclist/ but unfortunately it displays NO mirrors for f10 free x86_64. argh. Maybe it's just the last couple of days...