PDA

View Full Version : using iBus with Opera in F10

luo.mai
29th November 2008, 10:03 AM
In F9, I was able to make iBus work in Opera by adding
export QT_IM_MODULE=XIM to "/usr/bin/opera", but this hasn't helped me in F10.

(In F9, I also had to add
export XMODIFIERS="@im=ibus" to my "$HOME/.bashrc" to get iBus working in general, but that didn't work in F10; I managed to get it working in F10 via IM Chooser, and it doesn't seem to change the performance of iBus on the platform in general or in Opera whether or not I add the above line to my ".bashrc".)

Any suggestions?

www1862
30th November 2008, 04:31 AM
I got the same problem,but iBus didn't work in my F10 at all.It seems to be a big problem. I noticed that there is a bug report on iBus project's home page.

luo.mai
5th December 2008, 12:31 PM
After my first post, I discovered that iBus also wasn't working in Konqueror or KWord. (I've never used KWord before, and don't normally use Konqueror on Chinese sites because they tend to be designed for Internet Explorer, and Konqueror doesn't respond too well to their non-standard code.)

I got it working in Konqueror by adding a couple more lines to my .bashrc that iBus had initially suggested in F9, but which I'd commented out as I'd found them unnecessary. Now my .bashrc contains these three iBus-related lines:

export GTK_IM_MODULE=ibus
export XMODIFIERS="@im=ibus"
export QT_IM_MODULE=ibus
Now it works in Konqueror, but still not in Opera or KWord...

luo.mai
1st January 2009, 03:35 PM
In F9, I was able to make iBus work in Opera by adding
export QT_IM_MODULE=XIM to "/usr/bin/opera", but this hasn't helped me in F10.

After posting, I did a bit of experimenting with different distros, and am currently back with Fedora 9. Incidentally, I discovered that my previous fix wasn't working to get iBus working in Opera on F9 anymore, but I just got it working. If anyone using F10 wants to give this a try and see if it works, I'd love to hear how it goes: