PDA

View Full Version : Development in Fedora

zylr
12th August 2004, 11:22 PM
Ok, ive been working in linux fo a while, but im a Fedora newbie :cool: .
Im just wondering what you guys are using in terms of languages / editors(ide's) in Fedora.
Im looking for a language to do programming in Fedora (and, well all of linux).
I want something that does not tie me down to Linux (works on windows and/or mac (but the main purpose is for Linux development)
Ive used these languages before:
PHP,
Python,
a bit of Perl.
a verrry small bit of C++

Im wondering if any of those languages (or others, im always open to new ideas :))
Of course, not PHP.
Im looking to do GUIs and CLIs, maybe with glade.

Thanks!

crackers
13th August 2004, 04:04 AM
Java is probably one of the best choices for doing cross-platform programming, unless you need raw speed (like for First-Person Shooter games) for extreme graphics. If that's what you want, then you'll have to stick to C/C++ and try to find a compatable graphics library (good luck).

If you want to learn any new programming language, always start with a simple text editor and the command-line tools. This way you learn the language. If you start with an IDE, you end up learning the IDE, not the language itself. Once you've gotten familiar with the quirks of the language and how it behaves with the system, then start looking at IDEs.

Bana
13th August 2004, 08:41 AM
If you look around the Fedora environment you will notice that a large majority of the programs and underlying features are based off of two languages python