PDA

View Full Version : Gecko/FF2 crashidy crash crash - FC8



luminarycrush
19th November 2008, 10:54 PM
I have to be really frustrated to post about a problem, having been using Unices and Linux for 15 years now and being pretty self-sufficient, but man, I'm FRUSTRATED with FIREFOX and GECKO.

Every since FF2.0 I've had tons of crashes. FF1 had some other wieird issues with frames popping out of the X window and becoming a 'new' window (which if closed crashed FF) - the last really stable browser experince I had was with good ol' Mozilla.

Now I've been using FF2 for a year or so and have never experieced so many crashes.

I've disabled almost all extensions. I am not sure how to make this thing stable.

I am a heavy browser user - running lots of tabs and multiple desktops across two monitors, so overall there are 20-40 tabs open. I'm not running out of memory/paging. Simply, if let run long enough, it will crash. If it were not for the 'recover session' feature I'd have abandonded FF2 a lot time ago. But even that gets tedious.

I hear that Flash causes a lot of problems with FF crashes - but who can survive the web w/o Flash these days?

I notice another oddity - occasionally, very infrequently but at least once per day, X windows will do some kind of 'refresh' in which all the windows 'disappear' for a second or two and then 'reappear' in a different order/focus on the desktop. Weird.

I have a lot of Gecko crash reports I don't know what to do with.

Hlingler
19th November 2008, 10:58 PM
Install/upgrade to FF3. You can get F8 RPM packages from Remi Collet's repo: http://blog.famillecollet.com/pages/Config-en

V

luminarycrush
19th November 2008, 11:30 PM
Odd - added repo, yum search (as well as GUI) don't find firefox-3:

[root@pangea ~]# yum clean all
Cleaning up Everything
[root@pangea ~]# yum search firefox
livna | 2.1 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 4.3 kB 00:00
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates | 2.7 kB 00:00
1f1a3fbb55809a1330188fa8c367ea30ce35f12e-primary.sqlite.bz2 | 71 kB 00:00
fedora | 2.1 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 4.9 MB 00:30
rpmfusion-free-updates | 2.7 kB 00:00
1723888324846854d2845e34a33c7a26fae70282-primary.sqlite.bz2 | 216 kB 00:01
rpmfusion-free | 951 B 00:00
primary.xml.gz | 201 B 00:00
updates-newkey | 2.3 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 3.6 MB 00:22
updates | 2.6 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 2.2 kB 00:00
rpmfusion-nonfree | 951 B 00:00
primary.xml.gz | 201 B 00:00
remi | 2.0 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 76 kB 00:00
remi-test | 1.9 kB 00:00
primary.sqlite.bz2 | 29 kB 00:00
================================================== =========== Matched: firefox ================================================== ===========
firefox.i386 : Mozilla Firefox Web browser.
firefox-devel.i386 : Development files for Firefox
firefox2.i386 : Mozilla Firefox Web browser.
firefox2-devel.i386 : Development files for Firefox
flash-plugin.i386 : Adobe Flash Player 9.0
gecko-mediaplayer.i386 : Gnome MPlayer browser plugin
gnash-plugin.i386 : Web-client flash movie player plugin
kdocker.i386 : Dock any application in the system tray
kgtk.i386 : Allows Gtk and Qt applications to use KDE's file dialogs
mathml-fonts.noarch : Mathematical symbol fonts
ocspd.i386 : OpenCA OCSP Daemon
serpentine.noarch : Audio CD Burner


I can see other remi packages though, and can manually download the RPM from his site.
Could the repo DB be messed up?

Hlingler
19th November 2008, 11:38 PM
It appears that you are not using the protectbase nor priorities plug-ins, so that shouldn't be a problem. I would also suggest disabling remi-test. But your search method is vague: yum info firefox is the usual and preferred command, since it will list repo, version-release, and installed/not. Try that command first.

V

luminarycrush
20th November 2008, 02:35 AM
I updated to FF3 and it ran for about two hours before my first crash - seems par for the course.
I'm removing my .mozilla directory to see if there is some poison .js in there and starting over.

Also I've noticed some rendering bugs/anomalities in FF3 in the few hours I've been using it.

Hlingler
20th November 2008, 02:47 AM
Sounds like a good idea to me. If that doesn't work, time to start looking at add-ons (the usual culprit: extensions/themes) and plug-ins.

V

luminarycrush
20th November 2008, 08:03 PM
Well, I left FF3 running over night w/ about 10 tabs on 4 windows open - nothing crazy - and in the morning it was gone. I restarted and have been working lightly today (only about 15 tabs open) and it crashed on me again.

This is with a new .mozilla directory, FC8, pretty standard stuff. I didn't get the 'Gecko crashed' popup window this time.

As a side note, Epiphany will also crash after some time with multiple tabs/windows open, so it's possibly a core Gecko thing and not FF-specific.

I wonder if something in X is causing problems. I am running dual-monitor, 6-virtual desktop environment (standard clearlooks stuff, no fancy/custom themes anywhere aside from wallpaper). I do get this weird X 'refresh' thing every so often - and this is not limitted to just FF/Epiphany. All the screens disappear, the desktop seems to 'resync' or something odd (the monitors do not flicker nor does the background/menu disappear, only X windows do) and then the windows 'come back' in a different focus order on the desktop, sometimes slightly repositioned. I know they are slightly repositioned because if I'm in GIMP doing some touchup and this happens it jumps my cursor a fraction of an inch, causing me to have to 'undo' something.

Another note about this refresh thing - it happens *much more* frequently when I'm editting in Gimp. I don't know how this could be affecting Gecko/FF but it is something of an anomaly I've noticed since FC6. I'm running an Nvidia PCIE graphics card.

Hlingler
20th November 2008, 08:13 PM
Ordinarily at this point I'd recommend a full investigation of the FF add-ons and plug-ins, but your info suggests that a problem with X11/video is more likely. Please post:
> /etc/X11/xorg.conf
> rpm -qa|grep -i mesa|sort
> rpm -q libdrm
> glxinfo|grep render

V

luminarycrush
20th November 2008, 08:55 PM
A couple other pieces of info: I have two video cards, one used for my primary two displays, the second used for an external remote monitor and also a connection to my TV.

I've never been able to get the OpenGL functionality to work w/ the Nvidia driver - there are a few applications (CAD, games) which look for it and fail... though the Nvidia control panel says GL is enabled. My graphics cards are not the same model - one is a higher-end 3D card, the other a cheaper w/ an Svideo out.

The info you requested:

[root@pangea ~]# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Fri Jan 11 15:06:57 PST 2008

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Fri Jan 11 15:05:59 PST 2008
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL 2001FP"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "TV-0"
HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7600 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce FX 5200"
BusID "PCI:2:9:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1600x1200 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1600+0; DFP-0: 1600x1024 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1600+0; DFP-0: 1440x900 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1440+0; DFP-0: 1400x1050 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1400+0; DFP-0: 1360x768 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1360+0; DFP-0: 1280x1024 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0; DFP-0: 1280x960 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0; DFP-0: 1280x800 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0; DFP-0: 1280x720 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0; DFP-0: 1152x864 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1152+0; DFP-0: 1024x768 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1024+0; DFP-0: 800x600 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +800+0; DFP-0: 640x480 +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +640+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "TV: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP: 1024x768 +0+0"

[root@pangea ~]# rpm -qa|grep -i mesa|sort
mesa-libGL-7.0.2-3.fc8
mesa-libGL-devel-7.0.2-3.fc8
mesa-libGLU-7.0.2-3.fc8
mesa-libGLU-devel-7.0.2-3.fc8

[root@pangea ~]# rpm -q libdrm
libdrm-2.3.0-7.fc8

[root@pangea ~]# glxinfo|grep render
Error: glXCreateContext failed
Error: glXCreateContext failed

Hlingler
21st November 2008, 12:07 AM
This does not look good:
[root@pangea ~]# glxinfo|grep render
Error: glXCreateContext failed
Error: glXCreateContext failed Where did you get the NVidia driver, and what version is it ? If you used the binary "blob" installer from NVidia Corp., did you re-install after the last kernel update? To generate a new kmod? Failure to do so will result it failure of the driver, at least in 3D rendering operations. And the latest version of the driver has improved OpenGL support over previous versions.

The rest of the info looks OK, except that it appears that you may be opening the desktop session as root user. If so, that is usually discouraged for security reasons.

V

luminarycrush
21st November 2008, 12:32 AM
I am using the nvidia kernel modules from the Fedora and Livna repos -
pangea.pangea-systems.com:/export/home/jas% rpm -qa |grep nvidia
kmod-nvidia-173.14.12-2.lvn8
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173.14.12-1.lvn8
kmod-nvidia-2.6.25.11-60.fc8-173.14.12-1.lvn8
kmod-nvidia-2.6.25.14-69.fc8-173.14.12-2.lvn8
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-173.14.12-1.lvn8

I am using a relatively new 'closed source' driver from Livna:

pangea.pangea-systems.com:/export/home/jas% rpm -qi xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173.14.12-1.lvn8
Name : xorg-x11-drv-nvidia Relocations: (not relocatable)
Version : 173.14.12 Vendor: rpm.livna.org
Release : 1.lvn8 Build Date: Thu 31 Jul 2008 03:38:08 AM PDT
Install Date: Sat 02 Aug 2008 09:11:09 PM PDT Build Host: build64.crazyfrogs.org
Group : User Interface/X Hardware Support Source RPM: xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173.14.12-1.lvn8.src.rpm
Size : 7704129 License: Redistributable, no modification permitted
Signature : DSA/SHA1, Thu 31 Jul 2008 06:51:42 AM PDT, Key ID 71295441a109b1ec
Packager : rpm.livna.org <http://bugzilla.livna.org>
URL : http://www.nvidia.com/
Summary : NVIDIA's proprietary display driver for NVIDIA graphic cards
Description :
This package provides the most recent NVIDIA display driver which allows for
hardware accelerated rendering with NVIDIA chipsets NV30 (FX series) and newer.
NV30 and below (such as GeForce2) are NOT supported by this release.

For the full product support list, please consult the release notes
for driver version 173.14.12.

I know there is a slightly newer driver out, but I've been hosed by the nvidia driver/kernal module update before, so I like to see it out there for awhile before I install it.

I've never had OpenGL working - and that I'm not sure why, I've not troubleshot it at all.

I don't open the desktop as root unless I have to, I had a shell open from yum'ming FF3 and used it.

Hlingler
21st November 2008, 12:58 AM
Well, let's find out what's going on with the video driver: take a look through /var/log/Xorg.0.log and see if you can find out what's wrong/failing. If you can't or don't understand, upload it to pastebin.com and post a link here so we can review it together.

V

luminarycrush
21st November 2008, 01:15 AM
I'm not doing any custom driver things here - trying to KISS - not sure why it's not loading. I see this:

(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 1.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.3
(==) AIGLX enabled
(II) Loading extension GLX
(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers//nvidia_drv.so
(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org Video Driver

Seems OK. But then...

(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(0): TwinView enabled
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the GLX module; please check in your X
(EE) NVIDIA(0): log file that the GLX module has been loaded in your X
(EE) NVIDIA(0): server, and that the module is the NVIDIA GLX module. If
(EE) NVIDIA(0): you continue to encounter problems, Please try
(EE) NVIDIA(0): reinstalling the NVIDIA driver.

Do you think there's a problem when I've got two different classes of Nvidia GPU's installed? The driver supports anything above NV30 GPU's and mine both are.

Hlingler
21st November 2008, 01:50 AM
OOPS! I see it now: as the message clearly says, wrong glx module being loaded (X.Org glx, not NVidia glx). Fix that by adding:
Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSectionAnd remove entirely:
Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSectionThen re-start the X server (log out of desktop, ALT-CTL-Backspace), log in again, check with:
glxinfo|grep render

You need to see: "Direct Rendering: Yes".
Assess impact on FireFox.

V

P.S. This could very easily be the cause of your desktop "burps" and the FF crashes....

luminarycrush
21st November 2008, 05:02 AM
I can tell you I'd not have noticed that module version difference as it loaded OK and didn't throw an error. Good catch!

Now GL works, thanks a bunch for that!

pangea.pangea-systems.com:/export/home/jas% glxinfo|grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 7600 GT/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_texture_lod,
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce FX 5200/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!

If these FF crashes and desktop weirdisms go away I'm going to UPS you a beer (hope you don't mind ground ;-) )

luminarycrush
22nd November 2008, 02:22 AM
I've gone an entire day without an FF crash - this is an amazing acheivment, it's never happened since I installed FC8 - Wow! So it appears correcting the gl library version did something right!

Where do I sent the beer?

Hlingler
22nd November 2008, 05:08 AM
Actually, I'm just glad it's worked out well.

As for perks: our lucrative contracts ( :rolleyes: ) with the forum prevent acceptance of gifts. But I'd accept cash and other untraceable securities.

Just kidding. :D Enjoy the graphics.

V