PDA

View Full Version : ntfs module failed.

cultninja
11th August 2004, 01:55 AM
hello guys. i just installed fedora, and generally im new to linux.My setup is going fine but i have a little problem. i cant make fedora core 2 support ntfs.i want to fedora faq and i there i saw about the ntfs - linux project on sourceforge. i found the right rpm i downloaded it and then i tried to install it after installing it i get a
msg error: cannot load the ntfs kernel module
also %post(kernel-ntfs-blah blah) scriptlet failed,exit status 1

what does this mean? can anyone help me out ? it would be great help....thanx.

imdeemvp
11th August 2004, 02:22 AM
i had the same problem at one time....turn off pc and power on again...the second try it worked!

make sure it matches the kernel :eek:

cultninja
11th August 2004, 03:32 AM
i'll try that. thanx.. :) and i hope the problem will be solved

Harryc
11th August 2004, 09:09 AM
What kernel version are you running? There are problems with the ntfs RPM and 2.6.7 kernels. Solution - compile the kernel with an ntfs module.

cultninja
11th August 2004, 10:52 AM
im running 2.6.5-1.358.im sure that im installing the right rpm. but i still get the same error "module is invalid" when i try to load it.... god... what a problem :(

Harryc
11th August 2004, 10:57 AM
What is the result of;

# rpm -qa | grep ntfs

cultninja
11th August 2004, 10:59 AM
the result is kernel-ntfs.2.6.5-1.358 ... any ideas?

Harryc
11th August 2004, 11:41 AM
the result is kernel-ntfs.2.6.5-1.358 ... any ideas?How are you installing the rpm? As root?

# su -

password - enter

# rpm install kernel-ntfs-2.6.5-1.358.i586.rpm

cultninja
11th August 2004, 11:45 AM
well of course im installing it as a root :eek: .... :( if i cant read my ntfs partition i'll have to switch to another distro.

Harryc
11th August 2004, 11:51 AM
Is this the rpm you selected?

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/linux-ntfs/kernel-ntfs-2.6.5-1.358.i586.rpm

sayonara
11th August 2004, 11:54 AM