PDA

View Full Version : dual head nv 9600 gt [SOLVED]



serverman
27th October 2008, 02:15 PM
ok im pulling my hair out here :mad:.
I will not lie I am a linux noob kinda. ive tried following http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=201652 and got fatel error screens not found (with wone monitor unplugged) with both pluged in (dvi 22in widescreen lcd scaptre) i get a black screen and it never loads x11. also ive tried to use gnomes desplay editer tool and that didnt change the xorg.conf file

sorry i am shure you get alot of questions on this topic and im shure its beat into the ground but following the tutorials havent helped me i dont know if i am missing a mod or out dated nv drivers or what (ive run the updater and i have all the fedoracore 9 updates)

edit: 1 video card, both screens are same type. ill give more info once i get home.

thank you,
serverman

serverman
27th October 2008, 08:44 PM
here is my xorg.conf


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Hlingler
27th October 2008, 08:50 PM
So, you've installed the NVidia proprietary driver. Is it working? Check:
glxinfo|grep render

If you see: "Direct Rendering: Yes" then good, if "No", not good. Report results.

Upload your /var/log/Xorg.0.log to pastebin.com or such, then post a link here either way.

V

serverman
27th October 2008, 08:57 PM
it reports yes. do you still want the error log?
it only will let you veiw the latest log? i can only get it to show the log of working boot ( one screen unplugged) if both screens are on it black screens on me one screen is black the other is in power saving mode

Hlingler
27th October 2008, 10:41 PM
Xorg saves ONE old log file, of the previous (attempted) X-session, as /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old.

Yes, need to see the log. If necessary, you may need to reproduce the scenario that failed, so we can see what failed....

V

serverman
28th October 2008, 03:03 AM
logs are too long to post
xorg.0.log is working one (missing onescreen)

xorg.0.log.old is fail (with both screens)

so i am trying to attach ( did they upload?

Hlingler
28th October 2008, 03:09 AM
Uploads are currently broken in vBulletin. Please upload to pastebin.com or such, then post a link here.

V

Hlingler
28th October 2008, 03:52 AM
Well, that was an interesting solution to the attachment problem.... :rolleyes:

OK, there are several problems immediately apparent:
>
(WW) Open ACPI failed (/var/run/acpid.socket) (No such file or directory)
(II) No APM support in BIOS or kernelThis might be goofing up auto-detection, and can be easily fixed:
yum install acpi acpid acpitool

> Apparently, it's finding only ONE graphics device:

(--) PCI:*(0@1:0:0) nVidia Corporation Geforce 9600 GT 512mb rev 161, Mem @ 0xfd000000/0, 0xd0000000/0, 0xfa000000/0, I/O @ 0x0000d800/0, BIOS @ 0x????????/524288
(II) System resource ranges:
[...]
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 01@00:00:0
(--) NV: Found NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT at 01@00:00:0
(--) NV(0): NV: Found NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT at 01@00:00:0
Requested Entity already in use!
(EE) Screen 1 deleted because of no matching config section.Fixing ACPI might fix this, but double-check the card's physical seating in the slot.

Try again when done, report results....

V

serverman
28th October 2008, 09:39 PM
is their a way to check what slot it is threw linux?
i ran yum install acpi acpid acpitool it download acpid but not much changed .... well nothing changed

Hlingler
28th October 2008, 10:33 PM
is their a way to check what slot it is threw linux?Yes:
su -
lspci|grep -i vga

Or, to see all devices, simply:
lspci
i ran yum install acpi acpid acpitool it download acpid but not much changed .... well nothing changedDid you re-start the X-server?

V

serverman
28th October 2008, 10:34 PM
output is 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Geforce 9600 GT 512mb (rev a1)
yes i rebooted pc... now i havent set up freshrpms or anything like that on this pc plus i did not download nv driver on here it was on the fedora9 32 bit dvd i used how do i check if driver is up to date?

Hlingler
28th October 2008, 10:41 PM
That output is one line, indicating only one graphics device.

Something is very wrong here: either you have a bad card, a bad slot, a bad seat, a bad mobo, or some software problem somewhere. I've yet to see Fedora completely fail to detect a device, so I tend to think it's a hardware problem, or perhaps BIOS.

In any event, you will never get dual-head output unless and until X11/Xorg detects TWO video devices, so you need to solve that problem first.

V

serverman
28th October 2008, 10:51 PM
there is only 1 card it has 2 dvi ports on it

Hlingler
28th October 2008, 11:05 PM
Ah, now I see. OK, then: your xorg.conf file lists TWO videocards, so fix that, and the corresponding lines in the screen sections. And get rid of the spurious PATH to nvidia driver files if it's not installed:
[...]

Section "Files"
# ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

[...]

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

[...]You must re-start the X-server to apply such changes.

V

serverman
29th October 2008, 12:17 AM
still not working...
i saw this line
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"

but the screen is lcd 22 in ... whad does that option here mean?
also what is
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"


sorry i really dont understand x11 or its workings. im just taking blind shots in the dark here and following what u say here is my x.org now

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder26) Thu Dec 13 18:56:19 PST 2007

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display
# Dan's Note: Widescreen flat panel at 1680x1050, 50 hz
# Standard flat panel at 1280x1024, 50 hz

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6600 GT"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 12:28 AM
Those lines are spurious and probably harmless, but erase (or comment with a #) them anyway just in case. So are the two "metamodes..." lines that refer to the nvidia driver - erase (or comment) them too. Then re-start X and try again. If the setup fails, upload Xorg.0.log to pastebin.com and post a link to it here.

V
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6600 GT"
# Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
# Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
# Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
# Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

serverman
29th October 2008, 02:04 AM
still haven fixed anything
here are the logs
http://pastebin.com/m6aa557d2

serverman
29th October 2008, 02:15 AM
ok i think i got it working right but i am getting mirrored screen

here is what i did... the screens also have the old hook up on the back so i grabed a dvi to vga or what ever the old thing is called and hooked up the 2nd screen that way... now both screens are on but i am getting cloned or mirror out put so i dont know if its really seeing 2 screens or if just sending same feed threw both ports

also the converted screen is kinda (just a lil )blurred makes it look like i need glasses and dvi is really crisp and clean

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 02:24 AM
I see two monitors, and so does the software:
(II) NV(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
(--) NV(0): Console is VGA mode 0x3
(**) NV(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NV(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NV(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NV(0): Using hardware cursor
(==) NV(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(II) NV(0): MMIO registers mapped at 0xb6da1000
(--) NV(0): Total video RAM: 512.0 MB
(--) NV(0): BAR1 size: 256.0 MB
(--) NV(0): Mapped memory: 256.0 MB
(II) NV(0): Linear framebuffer mapped at 0xa6da1000
[...]
(--) NV(0): Connector map:
(--) NV(0): Bus 0 -> DAC1
(--) NV(0): Bus 0 -> SOR0
(--) NV(0): Bus 1 -> DAC2
(--) NV(0): Bus 1 -> SOR1
(--) NV(0): Load detection: 497
(II) NV(0): I2C bus "I2C0" initialized.
(II) NV(0): Output VGA1 using monitor section Monitor0
(II) NV(0): Output DVI0 has no monitor section
(II) NV(0): I2C bus "I2C1" initialized.
(II) NV(0): Output VGA2 has no monitor section
(II) NV(0): Output DVI1 has no monitor section
(II) NV(0): Probing for EDID on I2C bus 0...
(II) NV(0): I2C device "I2C0:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
(--) NV(0): DDC detected a DFP:
(II) NV(0): Manufacturer: SPT Model: 2204 Serial#: 883
(II) NV(0): Year: 2008 Week: 10
(II) NV(0): EDID Version: 1.3
(II) NV(0): Digital Display Input
(II) NV(0): DFP 1.x compatible TMDS
(II) NV(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 47 vert.: 30
(II) NV(0): Gamma: 2.20
(II) NV(0): DPMS capabilities: Off
[...]
(II) NV(0): Monitor name: Sceptre X22HG
[...]
(--) NV(0): Trying load detection on VGA2 ... nothing.
(II) NV(0): EDID vendor "SPT", prod id 8708
(II) NV(0): Output VGA1 disconnected
(II) NV(0): Output DVI0 connected
(II) NV(0): Output VGA2 disconnected
(II) NV(0): Output DVI1 connected
(II) NV(0): Using exact sizes for initial modes
(II) NV(0): Output DVI0 using initial mode 1680x1050
(II) NV(0): Output DVI1 using initial mode 1680x1050
(--) NV(0): Virtual size is 1920x1920 (pitch 2048)What was the problem???

V

EDIT:
ok i think i got it working right but i am getting mirrored screenThen tell it not to clone: Option "Xinerama" "1"
here is what i did... the screens also have the old hook up on the back so i grabed a dvi to vga or what ever the old thing is called and hooked up the 2nd screen that way... now both screens are on but i am getting cloned or mirror out put so i dont know if its really seeing 2 screens or if just sending same feed threw both ports

also the converted screen is kinda (just a lil )blurred makes it look like i need glasses and dvi is really crisp and cleanThe you've got to specify the monitor type in the device section. See Alecfyz' tutorial.

V

serverman
29th October 2008, 02:28 AM
if both are in in dvi mode i get 2 black screens
but if on is in vga and other is in dvi i get mirrored desktops and vga screen is kinda hard to read text and colours aren't as bright

i don't think the black screen is really a x11 error now i think it is a driver error maybe... how do I make sure my drivers are the latest?

how do i turn off mirror?

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 02:34 AM
if both are in in dvi mode i get 2 black screens
but if on is in vga and other is in dvi i get mirrored desktops and vga screen is kinda hard to read text and colours aren't as bright

i don't think the black screen is really a x11 error now i think it is a driver error maybe... how do I make sure my drivers are the latest?Not sure about the image quality. Post output of:
rpm -q xorg-x11-drv-nv
how do i turn off mirror?Tell it not to clone: Option "Xinerama" "1"

V

fedoraman08
29th October 2008, 02:39 AM
Congratulation, you have good config for great card in fed

serverman
29th October 2008, 02:45 AM
with Option "Xinerama" "1"
i get this

Backtrace:
0: /usr/bin/X(xf86SigHandler+0x79) [0x80bc549]
1: [0x12e400]
2: /lib/libc.so.6(strlen+0x33) [0x471743]
3: /usr/bin/X(ProcListExtensions+0x110) [0x8093ae0]
4: /usr/bin/X(Dispatch+0x34f) [0x8085daf]
5: /usr/bin/X(main+0x47d) [0x806b63d]
6: /lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe6) [0x4125d6]
7: /usr/bin/X(FontFileCompleteXLFD+0x22d) [0x806aa21]

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11. Server aborting

(II) UnloadModule: "kbd"
(II) UnloadModule: "mouse"
(II) Macintosh mouse button emulation: Close
(II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
(II) ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse: Close
(II) UnloadModule: "evdev"

WHY?!:confused:

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 02:49 AM
I have no idea.... :eek:

Check your xorg.conf against Alecfyz': http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=201652
The parts about Xinerama and the device sections for consistent device labels (i.e.: Screen0, Screen1, Monitor0, etc.).

V

P.S. Obviously, that should not happen....

serverman
29th October 2008, 02:52 AM
his is what i based mine off of one question
why does this one only define the card once then define the screens?
http://www.aleph0.com/computing/openbsd/inspiron-1000/xorg.conf-OpenBSD-3.9

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 02:59 AM
his is what i based mine off of one question
why does this one only define the card once then define the screens?
http://www.aleph0.com/computing/openbsd/inspiron-1000/xorg.conf-OpenBSD-3.9Because there is only one videocard/device, but two monitors which display two "screens".

I've lost track of your xorg.conf - not sure what it looks like at this point.

V

EDIT: OH POO! I see it now - OOPS! Yeah, gotta get rid of one of the videocard sections - merge the lines into one section.

serverman
29th October 2008, 03:15 AM
I am 99.99% lost :)
ok how do i edit this stuff :)

how do a merge them? just
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6600 GT"
# Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
screen 1
EndSection

i think i tried that and ogt an error


do i need to define screens with sreen1/2 like in the link iposted?

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 03:22 AM
Looks OK except erase the two "Screen ..." lines.
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6600 GT"
# Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSectionV

EDIT: Yes, you should end up with one section for one videocard, two screen sections, and two monitor sections.

serverman
29th October 2008, 03:43 AM
with Option "Xinerama" "1" it still crashs with that error 11 and backtrace.

Hlingler
29th October 2008, 04:10 AM
OK, then erase or comment out that entry, and try instead:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "LeftOf" "Monitor1"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "RightOf" "Monitor0"
EndSectionYou may also have to specify a total screen size that spans/fits both monitors - not sure on that part....

V

P.S. Xinerama may be deprecated, but I still say it should NOT crash just because that line exists. That appears to be a bug. Whatever....

serverman
29th October 2008, 08:37 PM
ok here is my x.org

i am still getting mirror screens

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder26) Thu Dec 13 18:56:19 PST 2007

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display
# Dan's Note: Widescreen flat panel at 1680x1050, 50 hz
# Standard flat panel at 1280x1024, 50 hz

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "LeftOf" "Monitor1"

EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "x22"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "RightOf" "Monitor0"

EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9600 GT"
# Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection

EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"

EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Hlingler
1st November 2008, 06:33 AM
I haven't had any more brilliant flashes of insight, :rolleyes: but maybe someone else will, and I'll keep thinking on it. This post should keep it on top of the pile too. :)

V

serverman
3rd November 2008, 11:48 PM
sorry to pull this back up.

i reinstalled fedora core 9 but used 64 bit not 32
then i downloaded nvidia driver not nv driver (using Hlingler tutorials) then only the 1 defined screen
then i defined both screens with Alecfyz tutorial. everything works now!

Thanks for all the help and sorry to waste your time

all that to say Topic solved

Hlingler
3rd November 2008, 11:59 PM
Glad everything worked out, and thanks for posting back to let us know that your issue is solved, and (most importantly) how you did it.

Marked as "SOLVED".

V