PDA

View Full Version : Advice for backup server

mdc1952
9th October 2008, 08:43 PM
Shorter version of a longer story, hope you'll bear with me. I work in at museum in a rural area. The only linux box we have is an old compaq pii that functions as a dhcp server and software firewall for our network (hooked to a t1 modem through a cisco router, then goes out to a network switch). That is all it does.

We are part of a larger museum about 1.5 hours away where the only guy in the organization who really understands this stuff works. Nice guy but busy and not always available to us, so I'm trying to learn something about managing this stuff. I have limited unix experience (use some windows but mostly OS X for daily work). We recently had a disk failure on the server and had to replace it. Originally were looking at four days down but managed to get a new box in two.

I would like to have a spare sitting here we can swap in if needed, and need some advice on the best way to go about it.

The current box is running Fedora 9. In checking things out with df, fdisk, and the fstab file, I see that there are two partitions on the hard drive, one with booting stuff that is mounted as /boot and the main partition that is divided into two logical volumes with the main one mounted as / and the other as swap.

I've been searching around to see it is feasible to just clone the drive and install it in a similar box. Have examined dd, partimage, g4l, and searched for info here. Some seem to say such a scheme could work, though may not with more recent fedora versions, but the logical volumes could be problem. Perhaps just installing fedora on a different box and setting it up similarly would be better.

Any advice of the best way to proceed? Anything that needs to be considered in terms of the dhcp functions?

Thanks for any help.

SlowJet
9th October 2008, 09:15 PM
Why not replace it with a modern firewalled router? About $40