PDA

View Full Version : another "which programming language" question

jsvoyager
4th August 2004, 02:54 AM
I know it's been asked a lot, but what programming languages do you guys suggest?

I am self-taught and fluent in VB (though rusty), consider myself quite good at PHP, good at CalcBASIC (for those of you who aren't in high school, its the programming language that comes with the TI graphing calculator. I happen to use the TI-83 version), and school-taught to Programming II in C++ (I have no clue how to do GUI things, though).

I want to start programming apps in Linux, but there is about zero VB support (I know, I know, mono). So I was wondering what you guys thought I should do: continue to learn C++ or start a new language (Java or Python I was thinking, but whatever)?

Some things I would like to see/be able to do in my new language: 1) create a GUI easily (I come from VB, what can I say.) 2) Have a nice IDE or at least some syntax highlighting 3) Have a website like php.net, which is just awesome when it comes to on-line documentation for each function that is well formated and easy to understand.

Of all the languages I've used, I like PHP the most :), but it can't be used to anything besides websites :(.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

foolish
4th August 2004, 02:59 AM
C isn't that different from php. Most gnome stuff is still written in C so i guess it's fairly easy to get going with that. Python is a fun language, especially for people still trying to learn the basics of program (like me), besides, much of Fedora stuff is written in python. like the system-config tools and yum.

I would go with C and/or python.

Varkk
4th August 2004, 03:06 AM
I agree with Foollish but I am becoming a Python fanboy ;)
check out things like the wxpython and pygame projects for graphical stuff

crackers
4th August 2004, 04:14 AM