PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Core 2

hakim
3rd August 2004, 09:09 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to fedora forum, I had a question about the Fedora release process. Since Redhat doesn't actually support Fedora (if I am correct in saying so???) Is Fedora Core2 considered the stable version???

If not how does this work exactly? :confused:

blahrus
3rd August 2004, 09:27 PM
i would say it's stable . . . .

Evert
3rd August 2004, 09:36 PM
Fedora IS stable.

Consider it as red hat 10

Tashiro
3rd August 2004, 10:12 PM
Hey,

FC2 is stable, FC3T1 is a test version which still contains bugs. But that is why it is a test release.

Tashiro

taylor65
3rd August 2004, 11:21 PM
The new version nomenclature is that Fedora Core <x> is a stable release. The releases with Fedora Core Test <x> are not stable.

hakim
4th August 2004, 02:19 PM
I see, thanks guys...I actually started my Linux exploration on Redhat 7.2 like many. However, when redhat changed its business model I quickly looked for another free resource hopefully with better documentation.

Now I'm back and I would like to use Fedora to support a db server.

rkl
4th August 2004, 02:44 PM
FC2 has been stable for me, but only after I forced an automatic fsck whenever the system was shutdown uncleanly (e.g. via a power off at the mains switch, rather than logging out and shutting down properly). Two of our Dell PowerEdge servers with ext3 and a hardware RAID 5 config both had some initial problems (now sorted out) that forced me to power cycle them.

Because ext3 filesystems only do a journal log replay by default in FC2, bad inodes can persist on your system until the next full fsck. Hence, when we came to do a full backup, the bad inode would be hit and the machine would actually panic and hang. I change the default in the startup scripts to force a full fsck on an unclean shutdown and then did a full fsck - the servers have been fine since...running like clockwork all day, every day.