PDA

View Full Version : Dual Boot With XP

axes
16th September 2008, 08:04 PM
Well first off let me apologize if this has been done (to death).

I am a complete Linux novice looking to dual boot between XP and Fedora 9, both are 64 bit versions. I looked around at various how to's but most of them are assuming you have a second drive. Right now I have XP installed however I will be dumping all my files onto an external harddrive and then format the drive.

My installs will both be fresh, just looking for how I can do this, I don't remember what I did last time with Fedora 8 but it definately did NOT work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Trid
16th September 2008, 08:11 PM
:O

I don't use 64-bit os's, but I imagine that the process would be similar.

What I did was install XP first, and ge that all set up. Then, make a partition (a large one) and label it whatever. You won't be able to access it from windows. I use a 35 gigabytes partition for mine.

Now, boot from your Fedora dvd or cd, whatever you are using to install Fedora. Then, you will do the install process, with all the picking of your keyboard profile and such. Soon, you will get to a screen with a bar at the top, and you should see all your partitions on that Hard Drive. find your Fedora partition, and delete it. Now, you are going to make 2 partitions. One of them will be swap formatted, the other will be ext3 formatted. the swap partition must be double your ram. This will be used as virtual memory by your Fedora OS. Then, make another partition the size you want for your Fedora partition. Format it as ext3, then you should be set-- Go through the rest of the install process, which you will be walked through by the installer.

Hope it works :DDDD

stoat
16th September 2008, 08:11 PM
Hello axes,