PDA

View Full Version : Dell wireless 1395 help

Kash
27th August 2008, 06:18 AM
Hello I am new to Fedora. I took a class on in and have decided to stay with it as my main system. I just installed it on my dell inspiron 1525 and I can't get the wifi to work. I have a dell wireless 1395 wlan mini-card. I tried a few things but i'm really lost. I got an A in the class but I have never executed a build. It was an intro class. If someone could give me a step by step guide to get this thing going I would really appreciate it.
thanks Kash

bbfuller
27th August 2008, 10:05 AM
Hello Kash

I'm not familiar with the Dell model numbers, but if you run the command:

/sbin/lspci

from a command prompt it should give us more information about your card that we can work on.

Give it a try and post back the output that relates to "network" and "ethernet" devices.

Nokia
27th August 2008, 10:10 AM
Dell's 1525 is on Intel gear afaik, so it should work "out of the box" Do a yum update first just to make sure you have the latest packages available for your version.

Kash
28th August 2008, 05:09 AM
here is the output from the code you gave me.
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)