PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible that compiz fusion and nvidia Twinview doesnt work together ?



rantanplan
20th August 2008, 01:56 PM
I have my nvidia X11 configuration set to twinview to view movies on my tv. This works very well.
The other thing is when i "Enable Desktop Effects" it doesnt work. X11 freezes or the response from menus are very slow. So is this because of twinview ? Anyone knows this problem ?

I use Fedora 9. But the problem was the same on Fedora 8.

vallimar
20th August 2008, 02:49 PM
You can try the new 177.67 nvidia drivers, assuming your video card is supported.


Fixed a bug that resulted in GPU errors when changing the TwinView display configuration while using Compiz.http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118085

bike_head
20th August 2008, 08:39 PM
I have use twinview with compiz on FC8 to FC9 with no problems. However, some xorg.conf kung-fu is required:


Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

vallimar
21st August 2008, 04:53 AM
Just to point out, in the F9 (and later) releases of Xorg, AIGLX and Composite are auto-enabled and only disabled if no support is found, so specifying them is superfluous. I think the livna tool always adds them because it doesn't know any better.

This isn't to imply it will cause problems to specify them, as they'll still get disabled if no support is found, just pointing out that doing so is unnecessary for a working configuration anymore.

Hlingler
21st August 2008, 04:58 AM
Just to point out, in the F9 (and later) releases of Xorg, AIGLX and Composite are auto-enabled and only disabled if no support is found, so specifying them is superfluous. I think the livna tool always adds them because it doesn't know any better.

This isn't to imply it will cause problems to specify them, as they'll still get disabled if no support is found, just pointing out that doing so is unnecessary for a working configuration anymore.Correct. I would add that you can also explicitly disable them with the appropriate options. However, the result(s) of doing so may or may not be advantageous.

V

rantanplan
21st August 2008, 09:43 AM
Ok. So there is no problem with TwinView. Maybe my xorg.conf is not correct ?


# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder57) Thu Jul 17 18:40:12 PDT 2008

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# keyboard added by rhpxl
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "EIZO F520"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "TV-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 40.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 50.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce FX 5200"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce FX 5200"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "S-VIDEO"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768_85 +0+0; CRT: 1024x768 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "TV: 800x600 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "TV: 800x600 +0+0; TV: 720x576 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Hlingler
22nd August 2008, 01:17 AM
@rantanplan:

I don't know much about twinview, but I know enough about Xorg, and something looks very wrong with your xorg.conf file. I believe that it should read:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "TwinView"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
[...]There may be other things as well, but it's very messy, so I'm having a difficult time understanding it.

Hope that helps,
V

rantanplan
22nd August 2008, 01:12 PM
I deleted my old xorg.con and used nvidia-settings again to create a new.
I know now why under compiz the menus react so slowly (about a second after clicking on any menu).
It is because of TwinView. If it is disabled the reaction is faster.
But anyway. I installed Fedora 9 after many years of using Fedora since version 2 i changed my
distribution to Ubuntu. And it works all good. I must say better. One big repository. No livna enable or disable at CLI with yum. Compiz works like hell. This was it for me. I am no more an Fedora User. Thx for the time.
But in the end its all Linux. So its only a choice of taste.

;)

vallimar
22nd August 2008, 03:25 PM
@rantanplan:

I don't know much about twinview, but I know enough about Xorg, and something looks very wrong with your xorg.conf file. I believe that it should read:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "TwinView"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
[...]There may be other things as well, but it's very messy, so I'm having a difficult time understanding it.

Hope that helps,
V
The Identifier line is just a tag, you can call it whatever, it's used for referencing.

Hlingler
22nd August 2008, 07:41 PM
The Identifier line is just a tag, you can call it whatever, it's used for referencing.OOPS! Yes, indeed. I was thinking of the "Twinview" option, which he has placed elsewhere.

But since the OP is outta here, no point in pursuing this any further....

V