PDA

View Full Version : Can't boot a fresh install of Fedora 9.

taracor
19th August 2008, 07:30 AM
So I recently downloaded a copy of Fedora Core 9, and decided to install it onto my old laptop. (Dell Inspiron 5100). The install went fine, but when I tried to boot it, not so much. I got to the screen where it says something like:

Starting (something)....................................... .......[OK] (without the dots, they are placeholders)

(you'll have to forgive me for my descriptions, I'm VERY new to linux.)

Well it did that for a while and when it got to SSHD it hung up and froze. So I restarted it, and this time it got all the way to starting CUPS and hung up and froze. So I restarted a few times but it still couldn't get passed CUPS.

So I went to the interactive startup mode and was planning to turn off CUPS, as someone suggested to me. Well it hung up on SSHD again, and kept doing that every time, so I turned that off too. Well I managed to get passed that screen and to the 'create an account' page. So I made my account. When I finished that, I only got a blank screen with just my mouse on it, and now when I startup through interactive mode and turn of SSHD and CUPS, after I log in, I only get that blank screen and my mouse.

Hopefully someone can help me out with this, I'd appreciate it greatly.

glennzo
19th August 2008, 08:47 AM
A blank screen with a command prompt, probably says localhost login:, and mouse or mouse only?

taracor
19th August 2008, 08:20 PM
Nope, just the mouse.

glennzo
19th August 2008, 08:26 PM
If you hit CTRL/ALT/F7 what do you get / see, anything?

taracor
19th August 2008, 08:43 PM
Well CTR/Alt/F7 doesn't, but CTRL/ALT/F8 does. The screen changes and I get a blinking cursor thing, and I can type, and if I do CTRL/ALT/F7 then, it goes back to the previous blank screen.

glennzo
19th August 2008, 08:48 PM
Then log in as root with root password. Edit the file /etc/inittab with the vi editor.