PDA

View Full Version : New to all of this...

Psycho
17th August 2008, 07:43 PM
Hey, I'm in the market for a laptop and in my quest of being awesome I want to use Fedora on it (dual booting that and XP).

However, I've had no experience with linux of any kind. I want to learn how to use it and I think installing it on my personal laptop is the best way to do that.

That leads me to my two questions:

1. Does anyone know of a good beginner's guide to fedora?

2. Can someone look over the specs of what I want and let me know of any compatibility issues?

XPS M1530 Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T5850 (2.16GHz/667Mhz FSB/2MB cache)System Color
Memory 3GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz (2 Dimms)
LCD, Color and camera Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch LCD (1280x800) & 2.0 MP Camera
Video Card 256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT
Hard Drives Size: 250GB 5400rpm SATA Hard Drive
Combo or DVD+RW Drive Slot Load DVD+/-RW (DVD/CD read/write)
Sound Card High Definition Audio 2.0
Wireless Networking Cards Dell Wireless 1505 Wireless-N Mini-card
Primary Battery 56 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
SECURITY Finger Print Reader XPS M1530
Bluetooth and Wireless USB Dell Wireless 355 Bluetooth Internal (2.0+Enhanced Data Rate)

bob
17th August 2008, 07:55 PM
I'll let the tech guys work on the specs with you, (I'll just drool instead). But I'll point you to the FedoraFAQ link at the top of the page. Also, check out the 'Read This First' Forum for a ton of links to exactly what you're after.

scottro
17th August 2008, 08:58 PM
Well, I think we all should aid in a quest to be awesome. I like that, I wish I could get away with using it on closing trouble tickets.
Oh....kay.

I think you are going to have trouble with the wireless card. I also think it's fixable. Try putting the number of the card into the search box and seeing what you get.

However--right now, the repositories are down, so you will have to delay the awesomeness quest a day or so while they do some necessary fixing.