PDA

View Full Version : Firefox acts as though Flash is not installed when clearly it is



ajamison
15th August 2008, 02:09 AM
I have tried multiple times to install flash in Firefox using the adobe repo and the official flash plugin yet the install finished but when i got ot sites that require flash they claim that I need the most current version of flash to run them when I do have flash installed.

I have also tried to use gnash to run as my flash option but that does not work ethier.

Is anyone else having this issue and if so how have you fixed it

Demz
15th August 2008, 02:14 AM
have you tried installing the tarball of flash an removing the RPM?

marko
15th August 2008, 02:29 AM
ajamison,

I have that problem sometimes because I have both flashblock and noscript running.
Try putting in a flashblock whitelist entry for that web page, also see if the
flash works after setting noscript to allow the page. For better security, you can pick
the session only allowance from the noscript menu, then firefox will forget that change next time you restart it. Of course if it fixes it and you want to keep that whitelist entry,
you can permanently set it up.

ajamison
15th August 2008, 03:41 AM
ajamison,

I have that problem sometimes because I have both flashblock and noscript running.
Try putting in a flashblock whitelist entry for that web page, also see if the
flash works after setting noscript to allow the page. For better security, you can pick
the session only allowance from the noscript menu, then firefox will forget that change next time you restart it. Of course if it fixes it and you want to keep that whitelist entry,
you can permanently set it up.
I do not have flashblock or noscript installed so that is not it.

Demz I have not tried the Tar file yet
will try that now

ajamison
15th August 2008, 04:12 AM
I fixed it what happened is that the old way of installing flash was in a plugins directory of firefox which does not exist so I needed to make a sym link to the components directory for it to work

murkman
15th August 2008, 12:39 PM
I fixed it what happened is that the old way of installing flash was in a plugins directory of firefox which does not exist so I needed to make a sym link to the components directory for it to work

Could you clarify exactly what you did? What path did you make a sym link to?

thanks.

ajamison
15th August 2008, 04:23 PM
sorry here is a more detail explanation

I made a folder in /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1 called plugins as this is what the flash installer looks for

However plugins such as this are now installed in /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/components so I installed flash using the tar file after making the plugins folder then merely made a sym link from /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so to the components folder so the command looked like this

su -
ln -s /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/components/libflashplayer.so

Of course you will need to replace the folder name firefox-3.0.1 with the current version of Firefox you are running

ajamison
15th August 2008, 04:36 PM
the current repository version of Firefox is 3.0.1 just so you know

marko
15th August 2008, 04:52 PM
However plugins such as this are now installed in /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/components

My system wasn't setup that way, I have F9 x86_64 and
my Firefox 3 link to flash plugin is in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and points to
/usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so

I have no link to libflashplayer.so from /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/components/
and my flash works just fine. Maybe there's several ways that work?

murkman
15th August 2008, 07:30 PM
Yep, I was have trouble finding the correct path. /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ was where is was. Thanks!

ajamison
15th August 2008, 07:46 PM
That is strange i have both setups but the mozilla folder does not do anything it is not related to Firefox it seems at least on my system

heshanxingzhe
16th August 2008, 07:03 AM
That is strange i have both setups but the mozilla folder does not do anything it is not related to Firefox it seems at least on my system
i try several issue about fix the problem and when i run:
/usr/lib64/nspluginwrapper/npconfig -i /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so
and the error report following as :
nspluginwrapper: no appropriate viewer found for /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so
who can tell me how it work like this or how i do for play the flash plugins in x86_64 firefox.
note:system:fedora9,,,x86_64,,,firefox-3.0.1

Demz
16th August 2008, 08:14 AM
i try several issue about fix the problem and when i run:
/usr/lib64/nspluginwrapper/npconfig -i /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so
and the error report following as :
nspluginwrapper: no appropriate viewer found for /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so
who can tell me how it work like this or how i do for play the flash plugins in x86_64 firefox.
note:system:fedora9,,,x86_64,,,firefox-3.0.1
symlink your Flashplugin would be the only way to fix this problem .. 1 of the reasons i will not use 64bit linux

heshanxingzhe
16th August 2008, 04:39 PM
symlink your Flashplugin would be the only way to fix this problem .. 1 of the reasons i will not use 64bit linux
dear Demz,could you pls show how to symlink?

i tried it "ln -s /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/plugins/libflashplayer.so" but it didn't work.
and i also tyied following:

ln -s /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/components/libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib64/nspluginwrapper/npconfig -i /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/components/libflashplayer.so
nspluginwrapper: /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/components/libflashplayer.so is not a valid NPAPI plugin

it couldn't work ,now i having pressure giving up it .
anyone have fixed the problem?

note:f9,x86_64,firefox-3.0.1
$:ls /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1application.ini extensions old-homepage-default.properties
blocklist.xml firefox plugins
browserconfig.properties icons README.txt
chrome libflashplayer.so run-mozilla.sh
components LICENSE searchplugins
defaults modules updater.ini
$:ls -l /usr/lib64/firefox-3.0.1/components
总计 8004
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2927 07-17 06:26 aboutRobots.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8948 07-17 06:26 browser.xpt
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25363 07-17 06:26 FeedConverter.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 49475 07-17 06:26 FeedWriter.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 38238 07-17 06:26 fuelApplication.js
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 267312 07-17 06:26 libbrowsercomps.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 63040 07-17 06:26 libbrowserdirprovider.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 40 08-16 13:21 libflashplayer.so -> /usr/lib/flash-plugins/libflashplayer.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 7040036 08-16 12:50 libflashplayer.so.bak
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 54888 07-17 06:26 libnkgnomevfs.so
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 31112 07-17 06:26 nsBrowserContentHandler.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 27067 07-17 06:26 nsBrowserGlue.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 77059 07-17 06:26 nsMicrosummaryService.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 33805 07-17 06:26 nsPlacesTransactionsService.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25248 07-17 06:26 nsSafebrowsingApplication.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 110702 07-17 06:26 nsSearchService.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 24273 07-17 06:26 nsSearchSuggestions.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 11444 07-17 06:26 nsSessionStartup.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 75773 07-17 06:26 nsSessionStore.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2854 07-17 06:26 nsSetDefaultBrowser.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12521 07-17 06:26 nsSidebar.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 34014 07-17 06:26 WebContentConverter.js

heshanxingzhe
16th August 2008, 05:05 PM
done as but it did not work:

$:ln -s /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
$:/usr/lib64/nspluginwrapper/npconfig -i /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
nspluginwrapper: no appropriate viewer found for /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

marko
16th August 2008, 05:35 PM
I used these instructions and they worked fine:
(note the 64 bit specific parts)

http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f9.html#flash

ajamison
16th August 2008, 05:54 PM
I belive you guys just saying how it was setup on my machine I agree the directory under mozilla makes more sense

mwhidby
18th August 2008, 06:30 PM
Strangely, I find that when firefox gets restarted automatically after logging in ( because it was running in my previous session) "about:plugins" shows that no plugins are installed. If I then close and restart it, all my plugins mysteriously reappear. Odd or what?

heshanxingzhe
19th August 2008, 07:04 PM
today,i have fixed the issue,The reference solution was from ‘http://hacktux.com/fedora/flash’.It likely to solve the problem.

heshanxingzhe
19th August 2008, 07:07 PM
sorry ,i input faulty the reference .
http://hacktux.com/fedora/flash
very sorry for my poor English.