PDA

View Full Version : Toolbar and menus won't load??



ryet0
12th August 2008, 10:29 PM
Hello world,
I just installed Fedora 9 and had it working for a while. After a reboot, I can now log in and get to my desktop, but the menus and toolbar are missing. Only the windows on the desktop are accessible. Restarting does not resolve the issue. I have not changed any settings (except for the automatically installed updates). Any easy fixes? Thanks.

marcrblevins
13th August 2008, 06:27 AM
Gnome or KDE?

ryet0
13th August 2008, 06:34 AM
gnome. The top and bottom panels are the issue. I'm new to Linux- what would be the easiest way to reinstall the panel library(s)?
Thanks

NewLinuxAddict
13th August 2008, 11:43 AM
Are you able to access a terminal window?

ryet0
13th August 2008, 04:08 PM
I can via ctrl-alt-f1; I can also get to the rescue mode through the boot cd

ryet0
13th August 2008, 05:08 PM
I think the problem is 'libgnome-menu.so.2', as when I run commands attempting to restart the panel process, I receive an error stating that this library is not found. What commands would I use to reinstall this library from the rescue disk? Thanks