PDA

View Full Version : Just out of curiosity

irot
24th July 2004, 06:32 PM
I'm kinda new to this, and am still downloading the Athlon64 install ISOs (and yes, i am running an Athlon64 ;)) . But just out of curiosity, how many of u here were able to (honestly) install Fedora Core 2 (any version, not necessarily the 64bit one):
- dual booted with WinXP
- on one hard drive
- without a hitch
- on the first try
- without the aid of caffeine
- and still managed to get enough sleep...?
:cool:
a few more hours and it'll be my turn, yayyy... :D

earobinson111
24th July 2004, 06:51 PM
well i dont have an athlone64 but i did

ewdi
24th July 2004, 07:21 PM
i did on my athlon 64, got a lot of trouble on my laptop though :p

marks_linux
25th July 2004, 07:29 AM
I did, then went to 64bit (then had problems getting other apps to install - mostly my inexperience), then wnet back to 32.

Running happily dual boot to WInXP (one of the lucky ones where it all "just worked")

Mark

Jman
25th July 2004, 12:00 PM
Not me, my upgrade (32 bit) had the partition table bug. Oh well, clean install is a fresh start.

Moved to Fedora Focus.

james016
26th July 2004, 12:14 AM
Me. I got it triple booting. Though all OS were put on a brand new hard disk. The 3rd OS is Xandros.

AliOop
26th July 2004, 01:46 AM
Add me to the bunch that didn't experence any problems. Of course I've been playing around with one Linux distro or another for some time. Even so, FC2 and 1 installed without a hitch. Let me back-up some. I had a sound problem that was solved by installing a PCI card. I had an old ISA originally. But other then that, no problems with the install. I have had some minor problem running/installing some apps. But a little work and I'm good to go. By the way, I've never been a fan of duel boot machines. Fedora is the only OS on my machine.

bob
26th July 2004, 04:02 AM