PDA

View Full Version : DVD drive read Fedora 9

marcosaluzzo
4th August 2008, 10:13 AM
Hi there,

I may be missing something obvious, but when I load a CD or DVD in to the DVD drive how can I read the information on the disk. I've checked in the media folder and there is nothing. I have tried with music CDs, data CDs and DVDs. Every time nothing. What I am doing wrong?

The DVD drive works from the BIOS because I installed Fedora 9 x64 from the installation DVD.

Thanks, Marco
--
p.s. I found an identical question on the forum but there weren't any replies. :(

LDC
4th August 2008, 07:32 PM
did you try to manually mount the device?

marcosaluzzo
5th August 2008, 07:33 AM
Thanks LDC for your reply. I'm a Linux newbie so coming from windows I assumed that it would automatically pick up the cd-rom drive.

I found a command to mount the drive on another forum

su -c 'mount /media/cdrom0/ -o unhide'

I got the following message:

mount: can't find /media/cdrom0/ in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

This is my fstab file:

/dev/main_group/root / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/main_group/music /music ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/various /var ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/luks-main_group-private /private ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/temp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/LogVol00 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/work /work ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/user /user ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/main_group/user_local /user/local ext3 defaults 1 2
UUID=5f8cfb96-1c77-45ed-8f55-9704183297b3 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
UUID=2985b9b4-d1f2-4e4e-9ad4-6c81a08eebe3 swap swap defaults 0 0

This is my mtab file:

/dev/mapper/main_group-root / ext3 rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
/dev/mapper/main_group-music /music ext3 rw 0 0
/dev/mapper/main_group-various /var ext3 rw 0 0