PDA

View Full Version : Xine Problems



Prem0
23rd July 2004, 12:01 PM
I am having some problems with my Xine. I installed it using YUM and it plays dvds but it is using all of my resources. The program suggested that I run xine-check and here is what the output says:

[prem0@localhost prem0]$ xine-check
Please be patient, this script may take a while to run...
[ good ] you're using Linux, doing specific tests
[ good ] looks like you have a /proc filesystem mounted.
[ good ] You seem to have a reasonable kernel version (2.6.5-1.358)
[ good ] intel compatible processor, checking MTRR support
[ good ] you have MTRR support and there are some ranges set.
[ good ] found the player at /usr/bin/xine
[ good ] /usr/bin/xine is in your PATH
[ hint ] No xine-config found. Assuming xine from RPMs
The xine-config script can be used to deternime some file locations
used by xine-lib, but you don't have such a script on your system.
However, it looks like you installed xine from the RedHat packages.
So I'll just guess that you are using the standard locations.
If you want me to be sure about those file locations, you can install
the 'xine-lib-devel' package (or 'xine-devel', depend on what packages
you're using, which contains xine-config. However, this package is
not really needed to run xine...
press <enter> to continue...

[ good ] plugin directory /usr/lib/xine/plugins exists.
[ good ] found unknown plugin: *.so
[OUCH!!] There are no input plugins.
xine needs at least one input plugin, but none is installed.
You should probably reinstall xine-lib...
press <enter> to continue...

[OUCH!!] There are no demux plugins.
xine needs at least one demux plugin, but none is installed.
You should probably reinstall xine-lib...
press <enter> to continue...

[OUCH!!] There are no decoder plugins.
xine needs at least one decoder plugin, but none is installed.
You should probably reinstall xine-lib...
press <enter> to continue...

[OUCH!!] There are no video_out plugins.
xine needs at least one video_out plugin, but none is installed.
You should probably reinstall xine-lib...
press <enter> to continue...

[OUCH!!] There are no audio_out plugins.
xine needs at least one audio_out plugin, but none is installed.
You should probably reinstall xine-lib...
press <enter> to continue...

[ good ] skin directory /usr/share/xine/skins exists.
[ good ] found logo in /usr/share/xine/skins
[ good ] I even found some skins.
[ good ] /dev/cdrom points to /dev/hdc
[ good ] /dev/dvd points to /dev/hdc
[ good ] DMA is enabled for your DVD drive
[ good ] found xvinfo: X-Video Extension version 2.2
[ good ] your Xv extension supports YV12 overlays (improves MPEG performance)
[ good ] your Xv extension supports YUY2 overlays
[ good ] Xv ports: YUY2 YV12 UYVY I420 YUY2 YV12 UYVY I420

Since it says reinstall xine-lib I went ahead and did an rmp -e of the xine-lib and it said it uninstalled it but when I went to reinstall using the rpm I get that it is already installed.

I then decided to try and do the xine-lib from source and when I do ./configure this is what I get:

[root@localhost prem0]# cd xine-lib-1-rc5
[root@localhost xine-lib-1-rc5]# ./configure
checking build system type... i686-redhat-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-redhat-linux-gnu
checking target system type... i686-redhat-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output... a.out
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ANSI C... none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking for strerror in -lcposix... no
checking for gcc... (cached) gcc
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... (cached) yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... (cached) yes
checking for gcc option to accept ANSI C... (cached) none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... (cached) gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for egrep... grep -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... (cached) yes
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether ln -s works... yes
checking for gawk... (cached) gawk
checking for inline... inline
checking for a sed that does not truncate output... /bin/sed
checking for ld used by gcc... /usr/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for /usr/bin/ld option to reload object files... -r
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking for g++... no
checking for c++... no
checking for gpp... no
checking for aCC... no
checking for CC... no
checking for cxx... no
checking for cc++... no
checking for cl... no
checking for FCC... no
checking for KCC... no
checking for RCC... no
checking for xlC_r... no
checking for xlC... no
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... no
checking whether g++ accepts -g... no
checking dependency style of g++... none
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.

Now I have made sure that gcc is installed.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Harryc
23rd July 2004, 12:49 PM
Make sure that 'gcc-c++' is installed.


# yum install gcc-c++

Viro
23rd July 2004, 11:34 PM
In fact, if you've got yum setup correctly you could just do


yum -y install xine-lib xine

Prem0
24th July 2004, 12:24 PM
Thanks for the help, I was finally able to ./configure and compile/install xine-lib and all my errors are now gone. I am still getting shoddy performance though but it is related to those nvidia driver, time to play with those.