PDA

View Full Version : Backup problem on fedora core 4 (mysql5(optional))

caksin
29th July 2008, 03:04 PM
i am totally new to linux, i have been considering to get to it for a long time but now i have to use it at work as i was given the duty to setup an auto-backup of mysql 5 database everyday on the fedora core 4 pc at work. I have installed pardus and using it for 2 weeks though, so i dont want to go back to windows at no place(home - work -...)
So as i have mentioned i must setup auto-backup, mysql administrator is also installed on the pc. But i can't use the auto-backup option on the mysql administrator, i can't save the scheduled task. Well i can, but when i close it and re-open it the saved job is gone(the backup time remains but the destination and the prefix parts are empty) I read that the password encryption part, or something like that must be obscured(not plain text) but when i re-open it, it also changes back to plain text after saving and closing. So i cant do it using mysql administrator-dunno why, i guess something about permissions.
I have been searching for 2 weeks now, and i have tried several ways, i found a backup program for windows(karen's replicator) which works great on windows(and is made for it) but couldnot get wine to make it work on my pardus because it requires other programs such as vbasic 6.0 (not sure it will work if i use wine to install-use vbasic 6.0 as well). BTW i must do the backup thing on a server machine so i cant risk to try risky things that i dont know how will end.
Then i read about amanda but could not install it, first i did not know how to install but then i learned how to, and could not do it because of the dependencies.ANOTHER BTW: I CANT CONNECT TO THE INTERNET ON THE SERVER MACHINE (where i must do the backup-to remind-)