PDA

View Full Version : change volume from the terminal



Gatemaze
28th July 2008, 06:52 PM
Hi,

running Fedora.9 with Gnome. I was just wondering how/if I can change the volume level from the terminal... I am not referring to alsamixer or any other tools, rather to what these are calling... eg. the volume-control applet on the panels... does it invoke some kind of high level program that changes the volume? cheers.

djselbeck
28th July 2008, 08:07 PM
Hello,

the mixer applet of gnome uses the gstreamer framework directly.

Gatemaze
28th July 2008, 08:25 PM
thx for the info.