PDA

View Full Version : Kernel update.. how to reinstall video drivers

bdaedalus359
28th July 2008, 09:48 AM
Pretty straight forward 'duh' question.. Forgive me, I'm new to Linux and I just switched from kde based SUSE..

The Kernel got an update so I have to reinstall my video drivers.. When I try to log in, I'm taken to a plain white screen that doesn't really do anything.

I need to install the latest Nvidia drivers for a 6200 from the terminal. How do I do that?

MSK61
28th July 2008, 10:24 AM
Try this howto from a virtual terminal(Ctrl+Alt+F1 or Ctrl+Alt+F2 for example): http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=188241

crainey69
28th July 2008, 03:10 PM
Hi Bdaedalus359

First of all, Welcome to Fedora!

Not sure about the 6200 but probably (I have 6800). If you have livna repos enabled, you can install kmod-nvidia and livna-config-display via yum. That being done the video drivers will update automatically with kernel updates.

Not many questions that I feel safe in offering suggestions to but I think that will help you!

Cory

bdaedalus359
28th July 2008, 07:29 PM
Thanks for the replys but, I've followed crainey69's suggestion and the howto but, yum tells me that "nvidia" doesn't exist or something like that.

On a side note, yum is really user-unfriendly. I'm not even sure I'm understanding what it's telling me. It's almost as if I don't have the repo enabled but, I know I do. Unless the kernel update un-did all of my settings.

JohnVV
28th July 2008, 07:41 PM
so you installed the nvidia.run package form nvidia .
1) first thing if you want to use this one ( i do not recommend it ) save it to / then for all kernel and xorg updates you MUST rebuild it .

su -
telinit 3
-- xorg shuts down , then relogin as root --
cd /
chmod +x *.run
sh .*.run
-- and install --

--------------------
the BEST way is to install ivina
-- remove the .run

su -
telinit 3
sh .*.run -uninstall

reboot

su -
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-9.rpm