PDA

View Full Version : UNRAR & EXE Files

PAULB
25th July 2008, 04:24 PM
Hi guys, I am new to Linux and Fedora came highly recommended, my questions are:

How do I install rar and exe programs? I have downloaded UNRAR for opening rar files but Fedora fails to let me install them, all I get is the message "unable to open".

Can anyone suggest anything?

Thanks

viperskunk
25th July 2008, 05:10 PM
For unrar type in terminal "yum install unrar" as root. I just installed it through the terminal without any problems.
As for exe files, you will need Wine. Again "yum install wine" as root. You can also visit : http://www.winehq.org/

JohnVV
25th July 2008, 06:10 PM
and only some Microsoft Windows .exe will run in wine
just like only some( ~75%) of Linux executables will run on Win Xp with CygWin

viperskunk
29th July 2008, 11:57 AM
I am not a big fan of the command line utilities. What i suggest you do to unrar files is this:
1) Download and install Wine
2)Download WinRAR from softpedia.com
3) On the .exe file that you have downloaded, right-click and choose "open with wine"
4)Wine will install it.
5) Everytime you want to unrar files after this, then simply go to Applications -> Wine -> Programs ->WinRAR ->WinRar
6)And then extract the files just like you do in windows.

Surajprakash
29th July 2008, 02:13 PM
Hello,
you can install Crossover also for run EXE files.

Suraj

lazlow
29th July 2008, 06:45 PM
Once unrar is installed (Linux version) you should just be able to right click on the file and hit extract here, no cli needed. You might also want to look at Gpar2 to deal with repairing rar files.

JohnVV
29th July 2008, 10:05 PM
and if you don't like the command line then you will HATE wine unless you like editing the MS windows system registry - for wine, in linux
( [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\...] )

viperskunk
29th July 2008, 10:26 PM