PDA

View Full Version : After system update Adobe PDF view in FF doesn't work anymore



TiPo
24th July 2008, 06:33 PM
After I (system) updated F9 today, 24 juli 2008, the Adobe PDF viewer in FF3 doesn't work anymore, the webpage stops.

briantan
24th July 2008, 07:47 PM
Install adobe repo and then install AdobeReader_xxx

# rpm -i http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/linux/i386/adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm

# yum list AdobeReader*
to list language versions

# yum install AdobeReader_enu
for US English version. Flash plugin is available too

# yum install flash-plugin

TiPo
24th July 2008, 08:19 PM
I uninstalled AdobeReader_enu-8.1.2-1.i486.rpm and reinstalled AdobeReader_enu-8.1.2_SU1-1.i486.rpm. It doesn't help. It takes very long to load a test pdf and with more complicated PDF the webpage is stopped.

I have Adobe repo installed:

]# rpm -i http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/linux/i386/adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm
package adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch is already installed

Flash and ohter things are still working fine.

briantan
24th July 2008, 09:33 PM
Any sample complicated pdf webpage that we can test?

http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/docs/HOWTO/other-formats/pdf/NCURSES-Programming-HOWTO.pdf

load fast and without any problem here.

TiPo
24th July 2008, 10:55 PM
I totally deinstalled Adobe and reinstalled. At first time it seemed to help, but opening the pdf above mentioned for the second time:
ld-linux.so.2 running cpu 45% memory 741 MiB
and still running and consuming.

The simple PDF:
http://www.intranetstatus.com/test/test.pdf

The more complex:
6252_centrum_a5_1_amy.pdf (http://www.zomercarnaval.nl/usr-data/general/6252_centrum_a5_1_amy.pdf)

It seems the same like a similar problem i earlier posted here with Flash, which was solved with the updates.

TiPo
24th July 2008, 11:01 PM
ld-linux.so.2 running cpu 45% memory 741 MiB
and still running and consuming.I killed the proces at 1 Gib. Seems to be something totally wrong on my system and FF3 and plug-ins after the updates last week. It already took me to much time.

briantan
24th July 2008, 11:42 PM
The simple PDF:
http://www.intranetstatus.com/test/test.pdf

The more complex:
6252_centrum_a5_1_amy.pdf (http://www.zomercarnaval.nl/usr-data/general/6252_centrum_a5_1_amy.pdf)

It seems the same like a similar problem i earlier posted here with Flash, which was solved with the updates.
No problem here with either one. Tried a few times.

Perhaps reinstall firefox might help?

# yum reinstall firefox flash-plugin AdobeReader_enu

TiPo
25th July 2008, 12:12 AM
[root@localhost ~]# yum reinstall firefox flash-plugin AdobeReader_enu
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Setting up Reinstall Process
updates | 2.3 kB 00:00
fedora | 2.4 kB 00:00
livna | 2.1 kB 00:00
Error: No package(s) available to install
[root@localhost ~]# Reply With Quote
problem is probally something in my system, but strange that it used to work fine and after a system update goes wrong. I suspect it has sonething with ndiswrapper, firefox.

briantan
25th July 2008, 12:42 AM
Looks that way. adobe-linux-386 repo is not showing too.

Perhaps you can try (as posted on another thread)

# yum clean all
# yum makecache
# yum update

TiPo
25th July 2008, 01:04 AM
Looks that way. adobe-linux-386 repo is not showing too. Perhaps you can try (as posted on another thread) # yum clean all # yum makecache # yum updateAnd do i have to reinstall Adobe? I didn't right now, but yum clean etc. doesn't solve the problem either.

I can view pdf perfectly with adobe and evince when i save them. But in FF it doesn't work anymore.

briantan
25th July 2008, 01:13 AM
I would reinstall adobe repo.


# rpm -ivh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/linux/i386/adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm

check if AdobeReader and flash-plugin is still installed, and install accordingly.

# yum list Adobe* flash-*

Run out of dea ATM... (short of reinstall F9 )

TiPo
25th July 2008, 03:32 PM
Some others encountered same problem:
http://citadel.tistory.com/158
http://blogs.adobe.com/acroread/2008/02/known_issues_with_adobe_reader.html
http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.59b507ae

For now i changed the viewer in FF3 for PDF to the default system viewer (Evince). It's a good work-around.

briantan
25th July 2008, 03:44 PM
I get my fair share of problems with F9, but not this one though.

Hopefully this will be fixed in FF 3.0.2 or adobereader 8.13 :)

TiPo
25th July 2008, 07:28 PM
Since i'm using FF3 (and F9) repeatedly i have problems with the plug-ins from Adobe and Java. Some times i can easily repair (by uninstalling reinstalling), some times a next update solves the problem, some times i have to use a work-around, like dis-abling forgery and phishing control.

But i'm really getting tired of it. I have used FC6 en FF2 and never encountered any problem. Since FF3 every update of xulrunner. nsdiswrapper gives problems. I read on the internet i'm not the only one, especially a lof of Ubuntu users (but thats maybe there are a lot) encounter the same problems.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=195094
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=194369
and now again Sun Java Plug-in doesn't work any more. (I spare you the dutch forum postings).

I know Adobe and Sun are not supported by Fedora, but the Sun java plug-in is the only one which works with the Netilla (AEP networks) remote access from my work. And PDF, Flash an Java are essentials (for me) when browsing the Internet.

It is an observation of me, but i never had that many problems running Fedora / Linux before. FF3 under WXP is running fine and i have to admit, i'm using it more often than before.

Seve
25th July 2008, 07:39 PM
( Threads Merged )

There is no need to create a new thread on the same Topic.
See the Posting Guidelines (http://www.fedoraforum.org/?view=guide)

Seve

TiPo
25th July 2008, 09:54 PM
( Threads Merged )There is no need to create a new thread on the same Topic.
See the Posting Guidelines (http://www.fedoraforum.org/?view=guide) SeveOK, sorry, to me it wasn't the same topic, I posted a specific problem, the last post is a more generic problem i experience. I wonder what is going wrong (or i'm doing wrong with F9).