PDA

View Full Version : Sun Java vs IcedTea

jesusofwales
23rd July 2008, 02:39 PM
I'll be installing Fedora 8 very soon. Currently I'm studying Computer Science and Java is used quite heavily, so I'd like to get the right setup for my situation, but I'm a little hazy on the pros and cons of each.

As far as I understand, IcedTea would be easier to install as it can be done during the Fedora installation and I would imagine that future updates (now that Java is open source) could bring it closer to the Sun JDK in terms of compatibility. The problem is that I don't know exactly what disadvantages IcedTea has to the Sun alternative.

My primary concern is: can it compile (and run) .class files from .java files that would be usable by a computer running standard Sun Java? Provided it can do this, I should be able to work with it as I can deal with incompatibility with a few modules.

I also can't seem to find the command line controls for compiling and running java and class files I can only assume that they would be
javac filename
java filenamerespectively (as this is what I'm used to in Windows) but it would be helpful if someone could confirm this or correct me.

Also, I'll be installing the x86_64 version of Fedora and the general feeling I get from reading around is that IcedTea would be more suitable in this instance.

Thanks for your time.

d347hm4n
23rd July 2008, 03:04 PM
The beauty of Java is that it is platform independent, it compiles into byte-code which the JavaVM will deal with, wether it is in Linux or Windows it doesn't make a difference.

Follow the following tutorial here (http://fedorasolved.org/browser-solutions/sun-jdk) to setup sun's Java in Fedora, then when you javac and java your files it will be using the runtime that is available to the windows environment.

Hope that helps.

Oh and btw, install and use fedora 9, Dunno why you would want to use 8.

Peace,

d3

jesusofwales
23rd July 2008, 03:20 PM