PDA

View Full Version : DVD mount permissions trouble

ptahlis
20th July 2004, 06:49 AM
I'm having some problems with mounting data DVDs created on a Windows machine. Although I'm a newbie, I have tried man mount, man fstab, and searching these forums for clues as to what I'm doing wrong, but haven't been able to figure it out.

Here's what's going on:

I have a laptop with a combo CD-RW/DVD+RW drive. Any CD I've tried to use so far has worked fine. I haven't tried DVD video yet. DVD data (read) works fine, but only if I am trying to access it as root. If I try as my normal user I get the following error: bash: cd: /mnt/cdrom: Permission denied

Here's the relevant line from my fstab file:

/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,users,kudzu,ro 0 0

Before I mount the drive the /mnt/cdrom permissions are:
dr--r--r-- 36 hansenc hansenc 3908 Jul 16 13:58 cdrom

and after mounting they are:
dr--r--r-- 36 4294967295 4294967295 3908 Jul 16 13:58 cdrom

Things I have tried:

After mounting the drive I have tried changing the permissions via chmod, but I get an error message because the filesystem is read only. If I remove the "ro 0 0" from fstab I can mount the drive (with an error message that basically states the device will be mounted read-only) and also successfully browse it as a user. BUT the long filename support (Rock Ridge/Joliet?)is no longer there, and I can't do without that. Permissions after such a mount operation look like this:

dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 2048 Jul 16 07:58 cdrom

I have tried modifying the fstab entry by removing kudzu, and by inserting a uid= and gid= statement without achieving any success at all. In the end, I can use the DVD as I need to only as root. As a user I either get "permission denied" or I have to use 8.3 format filenames. I would appreciate any insight someone can offer as to how to fix this, and just as importantly (because I do want to learn) why it's acting this way in the first place.

Thanks,

ptahlis

davedave