PDA

View Full Version : Strange problem with Terminal

Cybermatrix
23rd June 2008, 04:21 PM
Hi, first of all I am a Linux newbie so please excuse me if my questions will seem like a beginner question

I have Fedora 9 with the KDE installed, and everything was going fine until today when I decided to deeply explore all the Terminal and Konsole menus...I don't know what I pressed or changed, but when I tried to start the Terminal in order to start writing some commands, I always got the error message:

There was an error creating the child process for this terminal

and I simply can't write anything in it :(

So any ideas what might be wrong and how I might rectify this problem?

Thanks in advance for your time

MSK61
23rd June 2008, 04:38 PM
I'm afraid I can't settle on your problem, but you may reinstall the package. You may erase the package containing the terminal program and install it again.
This may be a multi-step process, since I don't know for now what package provides terminal.

Cybermatrix
24th June 2008, 11:03 AM
Thanks for your reply, I've searched the web for a solution to this problem but didn't have any luck :(

I've also tried to find out what package include the terminal in order to un-install it and install it, but didn't have any luck either :(

Now I am really wondering, is this the first time such an error appear to a Fedora user?!

MSK61
24th June 2008, 11:47 AM
For konsole, you may teyp:

yum provides `which konsole`
This should return the name of the package providing konsole. Then you may uninstall it using

sudo yum erase <package name>
where <package name> is the name of the package returned by the first command.
Then install it again using the command:

sudo yum install <package name>
The same procedure may be repeated for the terminal program, except for substituting "terminal" for "konsole".
I hope this helps.

Cybermatrix
24th June 2008, 12:27 PM