devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdc1 /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
/dev/hdc2 /home1 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
I have the /home and /home1 on a harddisk connected to the IDE connector 2
Now I want to move that harddrive to the IDE connector 1 where also the Boot drive is /dev/hda1.

I assume i will have to change /dev/hdc1 and hdc2 to /dev/hdb1 and hdb2

But when i boot, hole fedora 5 crokes. i get error error on opening /dev/hdb1 error in superblock..

Question is there a easy way to fix that up without losing the hole files on that second drive? And yes im a complet noob in linux, so if someone answer please a step be step :)

Saint Mike
22nd June 2008, 05:06 PM
U would have to change the boot order in your bios to point to the new location of your boot HD

Then yes it will change the naming of your HD's u will have to change them accordingly in fstab

An easy app to look trhough your HD's and see which is which is gpated
yum install gparted

A little more info on your setup would help us help you.

So you have 3 HD's?

one with 2 partitions thats your two home folders
what setup is on the other 2 HD's?

is /boot on its own partition?

are you duel booting windows? what partition and drive is that on?

Arrn
22nd June 2008, 05:35 PM
No 2 Hd's.
hda1 is the complet fedora, including boot etc.

hdc1 is /home
hdc2 is /home1 (1 HD with 2 partion on it.)

Boot is fine, it only crokes on opening the HDB drive second HD what was hdc before.
but as soon i connect the second drive to the first ide controller and do:
/dev/hdb1 /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
/dev/hdb2 /home1 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
and reboot i get that error.

if I unplug the second drive complet and take those 2 lins out from fstab it works too except no /homes then :)

If i plug HD 2 again on the second ide controller and do