PDA

View Full Version : madwifi



riple
22nd June 2008, 10:00 AM
hi there,,, I try to install madwifi and get this error
[root@localhost madwifi-ng-r3366+ar5007]# make
/bin/sh: line 0: cd: /lib/modules/2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64/build: No such file or directory
Makefile.inc:66: *** /lib/modules/2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64/build is missing, please set KERNELPATH. Stop.


what should I do for this
regards

MSK61
22nd June 2008, 10:09 AM
What's the kernel you're currently running? Post the output of the command:

uname -r
You may be also missing the kernel-devel and kenerl-headers packages, since it seems you're building a program that depends directly on the headers(; I don't know what that madwifi is unfortunately). Anyway, if you find the output of the previous uname command matching 2.6.25-14, then you may install the development packages for this kernel using the command:

sudo yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers
Make sure that yum has grabbed the correct packages(matching your kernel version and release) before answering yes to installing the packages.
Let us know if this helps your problem.

riple
22nd June 2008, 10:28 AM
hi there,,,, now I use windows,,, but I install from the dvd fedora 9 x86_64
so I think kernel 2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64
untill now I cant use my wlan,,, maybe later I give you more details about my computer.
regards

bbfuller
22nd June 2008, 11:30 AM
Hello riple

You would normally expect to install madwifi from the Livna repositories where it is already compiled for Fedora.

Be aware though that it doesn't work with all of the latest Atheros cards.

If you want some help Livna, post back along with details of your card.

Just use:


/sbin/lspci

from a command prompt and copy and paste the parts that relate to 'ethernet' and 'network'

riple
22nd June 2008, 11:41 AM
hi there,
but Im online with windows, untill now I just offline to use fedora... can you help me another way
regards

bbfuller
22nd June 2008, 11:56 AM
Hello riple

It's certainly possible to install madwifi from Livna without an internet connection and I can give you the notes to do it.

I'd be happier though if you would boot into Fedora first, run the command:


/sbin/lspci

in a terminal window and copy and paste back the parts that relate to 'ethernet' and 'network' so that we know what card we are dealing with.

riple
22nd June 2008, 12:18 PM
ok here it is
/sbin/lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 ISA Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP67 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Co-processor (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 IDE Controller (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 AHCI Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:12.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 7000M (rev a2) (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
01:09.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
01:09.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 12)
01:09.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
01:09.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev ff)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)

bbfuller
22nd June 2008, 02:35 PM
Hello riple

I 'think' that card is the problem one. However, I suggest you check up on the two links below. One gives guidance on how to tell if it is and the other on what to do afterwards.

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/rhhw.html

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/rhwireless.html#5007

scottro
22nd June 2008, 02:56 PM
It looks like you're using a 64 bit system, right? That snapshot you're getting won't work on 64 bit.

See the link bbfuller gave fora link to the one that works with 64 bit.

disjointed
23rd June 2008, 11:34 AM
That card now work perfectly with madwifi package from livna, that has new HAL included. But you better try a

/sbin/lspci -s 07:00.0 -v -n

and show us the output, may be the card is detected erroneously.
Looks like I have the same card, and it works perfectly in my F9 with livna packaged drivers.