PDA

View Full Version : new update and my nvidia driver broke

boxerriely
21st June 2008, 08:09 PM
after the last update i rebooted my machine and now i can only get a command prompt. the nvidia driver was updated. i am a complete noob so any suggestions would be appreciated

JohnVV
21st June 2008, 08:36 PM
i am on f 8 so this may not apply to F 9. -- and 32BIT ONLY
i noticed that the livnia nvidia update was a .586 , and my kernel is a .686 ,
so ,a mismatch .Also the 586 k-mod was OLDER than the 686 dviver installed
give this a go
FIRST try " yum update "

yum info kernel

(Repo : installed)
(- there will be two installed) example:
-----
Installed Packages
Name : kernel
Arch : i686
Version: 2.6.25.4
Release: 10.fc8
Size : 50 M
Repo : installed
----
find out witch one you have installed 586,686
now run

rpm -qa | grep nvidia
this will tell you what drivers are installed
for example mine is
"kmod-nvidia-96xx"
then
----" REPLACE THIS WITH YOURS"----
yum info kmod-nvidia-96xx
example:
Installed Packages
Name : kmod-nvidia-96xx
Arch : i686
Version: 96.43.05
Release: 12.lvn8
Size : 0.0
Repo : installed
-----
now if there is a miss match
then run" yum remove kmod-nvidia "
then " yum install kmod-nvidia "

boxerriely
21st June 2008, 09:06 PM
i tried the yum remove yum install and when i pressed ctrl/alt/f7 the desktop gui flashed for a second and then to black screen p.s. i am running fc8 the update that did this was a se package update

boxerriely
21st June 2008, 09:36 PM
i think it just keeps install the same i686 driver also the kernel is a i586 but i thought my machine was a i386 i have a 3.2p4 800mhz processor

JohnVV
21st June 2008, 10:32 PM
"the update that did this was a se package update"
not likely that will not effect gnome
boot into text only then and back up the xorg.conf

cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.back1.conf
then see if this file is there "xorg.conf.livna-config-backup"
ls -l /etc/X11
if the file is there
then