PDA

View Full Version : Firefox 3 hep



Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:15 AM
After updating to firefox three (instead of running the beta 5)

i cant set my home page or run java applications?


FLASH WONT WORK EITHER! WHAT IS GOING ON!
please heelp!

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:18 AM
Where did you get it? Did you also update xulrunner? What release of Fedora?

V

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:20 AM
i simply put

yum update firefox


in terminal

on fedora 9

i think xulrunner was updated too

It was working before i updated, whats going on? :confused:

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:27 AM
Well, please post results of:
rpm -q firefox xulrunner flash-plugin

Then check those packages for damage:
rpm -V firefox xulrunner flash-plugin

V

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:29 AM
[Cr0wZz@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost Cr0wZz]# rpm -q firefox xulrunner flash-plugin
firefox-3.0-1.fc9.i386
xulrunner-1.9-1.fc9.i386
flash-plugin-9.0.124.0-release.i386
[root@localhost Cr0wZz]# rpm -V firefox xulrunner flash-plugin



Nothing comes up after that command

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:33 AM
Wow, well, poo. Same ones I got. BTW, no output from 'rpm -V ...' means all is well (according to rpm). What about Java? What java engine are you using? I got jre-1.6.0_06-fcs.i586 from sun/java.

V

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:35 AM
Java 6, update 6, build 1.6.0_06-b02


Also, when the xulrunner was downloading my internet disconnected, then reconnected and finished downloading just fine

Demz
19th June 2008, 08:37 AM
[Cr0wZz@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost Cr0wZz]# rpm -q firefox xulrunner flash-plugin
firefox-3.0-1.fc9.i386
xulrunner-1.9-1.fc9.i386
flash-plugin-9.0.124.0-release.i386
[root@localhost Cr0wZz]# rpm -V firefox xulrunner flash-plugin



Nothing comes up after that command
did you install leighs RC2 RPM by any chance? of firefox that is

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:38 AM
That should be OK then - the download was obviously synchronized, plus rpm already said it's OK.

Try starting another desktop session as another user (create a dummy/test user if necessary) and try FF3 with that user - a fresh, clean config....

V

P.S. I'm curious: it sounds like you were downloading those RPMs rather than updating with YUM - any reason for that?

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:38 AM
dont think so

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:39 AM
That should be OK then - the download was obviously synchronized, plus rpm already said it's OK.

Try starting another desktop session as another user (create a dummy/test user if necessary) and try FF3 with that user - a fresh, clean config....

V

No..
...java isnt wokring


http://i28.tinypic.com/2cekbo6.png

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:41 AM
Well, then re-create the java plug-in link in FF3 install folder.

V

Or, verify that it still exists in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ folder:
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so -> /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:43 AM
Well, then re-create the java plug-in link in FF3 install folder.

V

Files are there, both of them

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:45 AM
Verify that it still exists in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ folder:
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so -> /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so

Also:
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin.so -> <PATH to wherever java plugin is installed>

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:50 AM
Verify that it still exists in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ folder:
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so -> /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so

Also:
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin.so -> <PATH to wherever java plugin is installed>


all the files are there..

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:50 AM
Um... you did re-start firefox after the updates, right?

V

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:54 AM
Um... you did re-start firefox after the updates, right?

V
yeah, i even rebooted my computer

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 08:57 AM
Wow. I'm out of ideas. Unless you didn't set up alternatives correctly: to point to sun's java rather than open-jdk or whatever it is now that comes with Fedora?

V

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 08:57 AM
i could uninstall firefox and reinstall i guess

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 09:02 AM
didnt work

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 09:11 AM
Also, i just tried it on another account, and it worked perfectly

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 09:17 AM
Also, i just tried it on another account, and it worked perfectly


SOLVED

Under the launch thing it said

/usr/lib/mozillafirefox3.0 '%s'



And on the working account it said

firefox %u



I have no idea what that is, but i changed that to firefox %u on this account, and it works perfectly again

:)

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 09:17 AM
Also, i just tried it on another account, and it worked perfectlyWell, then there's the problem.

Back up your normal user's ~/.mozilla folder, at least save the bookmarks and passwords or whatever (or not), and start yourself with a fresh, clean config. Then you should be good to go.

Something about the old config it must not like....

V

EDIT: Oh, my ! The menu launcher. Good Grief !

Cr0wZz
19th June 2008, 09:22 AM
EDIT: Oh, my ! The menu launcher. Good Grief !


firefox isnt located anywhere else, its only in the launcher, i could easily put it under Internet, but meh

Phantom_Lord
19th June 2008, 01:53 PM
Hi guys! Yesterday I updated FF to FF3. After its restart I tried to open http://fedoraguide.info/index.php/Fedora9 and my machine broke down - the X server died so badly that nothing could be done except hardware restart. The same was with FF3B5 - that was the reason I tried to open the FedoraGuide page - to see if the bug (or the problem) is still unsolved. Up till now I don't have any problems with other web pages and may be the problem is related to the page source, but who knows.... For instance - there are no problems at all with FF2 and Fedora 9 - I tried it and everything is OK. Even now I'm considering FF3 downgrade to the good old and most important - perfectly stable FF2.

Some info about my system:

[Veselin@Veselin-nb-hp ~]$ uname -a Linux Veselin-nb-hp 2.6.25.6-55.fc9.x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Jun 10 16:05:21 EDT 2008 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

[Veselin@Veselin-nb-hp ~]$ rpm -qa | grep firefox firefox-3.0-1.fc9.x86_64
[Veselin@Veselin-nb-hp ~]$ rpm -qa | grep xulrunner xulrunner-1.9-1.fc9.x86_64

OK, that's the problem in two word. If someone knows how to repair it - please let me know.

Regards,
P.L.

evilinux
19th June 2008, 02:38 PM
Flash player does not work with firefox 3. There is no compatible version yet.

Hlingler
19th June 2008, 03:00 PM
Flash player does not work with firefox 3. There is no compatible version yet.I just tested flash player on F8 on two sites, and it passes both tests:
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_15507&sliceId=2

This is F8 firefox [3] and xulrunner from Remi Collet's repo, and Abobe's flash:
firefox-3.0-1.fc8.remi.i386
xulrunner-1.9-1.fc8.remi.i386
flash-plugin-9.0.124.0-release.i386

V

Vetal
20th June 2008, 02:10 AM
I had the same problem with flash after updating to firefox 3.0 so I:


sudo yum remove flash-plugin
close ff if it was running and then:

sudo yum install flash-plugin
and it works now

Anniedog
20th June 2008, 03:59 AM
Just to confirm that I have flash on my F9 x86_64 working withFF3.01. The only issue I had was having to click into blank area where swf was supoosed to display and that brought up firefox is blocking pop ups for this site dialog once enabled I have:
You have version 9,0,124,0 installed
with spinning boxes.