PDA

View Full Version : Don't have access to move files

maxicooper
9th June 2008, 04:02 PM
Hi all!

I'm new to the Linux world and am trying to set up my system. In order to install the Flash Player for the Firefox I need to move some files to the plugins folder under Mozilla. Yet, when trying to do so from the termina. This is what I get:

[maxicooper@localhost install_flash_player_9_linux]$ sudo mv libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
[sudo] password for maxicooper:
maxicooper is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.

Can anyone give me a hint on what to do?

Thanks in advance,

Max Cooper

PabloTwo
9th June 2008, 04:33 PM
Hello maxicooper, and welcome to the Fedora Forum-

In Fedora, users are not automatically setup for using the 'sudo' command, as witnessed by the error message you got. Have a look at this link for how to do that, and many other things.

http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f9.html

If you're not using F9, just substitute whichever version you are running in the url above.

But in the meantime, you can get permission to write to locations outside of your user account by becoming the root user with the 'su -' command.

You really don't want to 'mv' (move) that libflashplayer.so file from where it is installed. The preferred method is to create a symbolic link to it in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins folder.

su -
ln -s /path/to/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
Use the actual path in place of /path/to. You could also create a symbolic link to that flashplayer plugin file directly into your Firefox plugins directory which would work just as well but doing so would not give access to that plugin by other mozilla applications.

maxicooper
9th June 2008, 04:58 PM
Thanks Pablo.

I've did what you told me to but since I was missing another step I had to look up for more instructions. When doing so, I found out how to run the installer. After doing so, it told me: