PDA

View Full Version : package managment?

DesolateOne
5th June 2008, 04:09 PM
Hello, I'm new to fedora, long time Debian based Linux user, and I have some questions about the package management of Fedora. Basically I'm wondering what my gui options are for package management, see Im used to using synaptic and coming to yum for me has been a difficult transition. Yum feels sluggish, is there a different front end I can use to manage packages, something quick, something I can select multiple packages to install at the same time, because as far as I can see I have to install each package individually with yum and it seems to be a painfully time consuming act as I wish to install several packages. Id rather not use the cli for package management.

Thanx for any help, and sorry if this is posted in the wrong place.

JN4OldSchool
5th June 2008, 04:29 PM
A fellow Floridian! I am in the Leesburg area.

Try:

yum install yumex

This is the best front end for yum. You can also use synaptic, which is what you are used to, but I really suggest staying with yumex in fedora.

You can also install multiple packages on the CLI by just leaving a space between packages, ie. "yum install yumex packageb packagec" and so on.

fnmblot
5th June 2008, 04:30 PM
yumex is a great frontend to yum. I think it is very fast myself.

# yum install -y yumex

DesolateOne
5th June 2008, 04:33 PM
Hey thanx alot, Ill give yumex a shot, whats the deal with synaptic though? I can use synaptic in Fedora? And yes Im not too far from Tampa!

JN4OldSchool
5th June 2008, 04:42 PM
Hey thanx alot, Ill give yumex a shot, whats the deal with synaptic though? I can use synaptic in Fedora? And yes Im not too far from Tampa!

Yes, you can use synaptic with .rpm. You cannot, however, use .deb packages. Even though debian has, by far, the fullest repos, there really isnt much you will need that is not in the Fedora or Livna repos.