PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Live on USB Boot Problems

wesley.bunton
22nd May 2008, 07:01 PM
I'm new to linux, and I used the usb creator and the F9 i686 live cd image to make a usb drive. I am booting it onto a Dell Latitude D820 with 2gigs Memory, nVidia Quadro onboard, and a 1.8 Intel (dual core). At first it works wonderfully (with some small exceptions with the desktop effects and things like that).

I can even update it, and reboot and it works well for a while. Then at some point when I try to boot from the usb drive again, it will start to give me an error message that I do not understand since i'm new to linux. I can't seem to do anything except format my usb drive and start again. The message is:

"Bug found in init. Dropping to a shell. Good Luck!"

Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks.

bwiebe
9th July 2008, 09:41 PM
I have the same issue as well with an HP core 2 duo running F9 i686 live on a usb (crucial 8GB usb flash drive).

Seems as though it is one of the updates as it works as long as I don't update it, but as soon as I do, it breaks. I have not narrowed it down yet as to what update, but I don't thing its the xorgs.

xistent
24th July 2008, 12:45 AM
I have the same issue, has anyone narrowed it down or found a fix?

bwiebe
24th July 2008, 02:00 AM
I have found a bit of a workaround. If you backup the raw files on something else(say you windows drive or other computer), you can try and update fedora one update at a time until you find the one that breaks it. When you do break it, just replace the files and your back to where your started. I would do this to find which update breaks it, but I just don't have the time, I just don't update it right now.

Anyone up for the challenge to find which update breaks it?

zackf
21st October 2008, 01:54 AM
I am having the same problem, I have done updates one letter at a time eg
yum update a* I have narrowed it down to the "L's" so I think it's a lib update that's doing it.

Has anyone found a solution?