PDA

View Full Version : New Member Here!

Indy
10th July 2004, 02:31 AM
Hey guys whats up?
I found this website about a week ago and just scoured around it a bit. I decided to register and become apart of the Fedora community!
In any case, about myself, I wouldn't say I was a "noob" as I have used redhat for quite some time now (all command line). But I'm not a developer either. So I think I`m somewhere in the middle. I usually don't use the RPM files as I like to have complete control when I configure and make files.
Enough with the boring stuff.

I have 2 questiosn for you guys.

1) What do you think the future of Fedora is? IMO, I think it was messed up that Redhat let the community spend so much time helping build its product and then dropping the free version like a bad habit. So why would anyone bother developing and enhancing Fedora?

2) Not to sound like a hypocrite, but I got so used to Redhat that I can't see myself using other OS's like Gentoo, Slackware although I heard they were pretty good.
I insalled Fedora Core 2 early this week and I am having trouble getting my Intel Pro 2011 wireless PCMCIA card to work with it. It's built on a Compaq 1800T laptop.
Because I am writing this on my WINDOWS box, I can only generally tell you how its setup. Fedora picked up the card as a coronico_cs card.
When I type: cardctl ident.
It displays the correct information about the card. So it's definitley reading it.
Because I setup the IP address statically. When I type: iwconfig
I get the appropriate information regarding the setup of the card: (ie: ip addr, gateway..)
I can also ping itself. The IP is set to 192.168.10.6. So pinging that IP returns the correct results. I disabled WEP on my Linksys just to narrow do the troubleshooting.
The light on the card blinks because its looking for an AP and makes a little sound. That sound(when I had WindowsXP on it) is the same sound when its looking for an AP. So I know its trying to do its job.